Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Muck Drubb / Counterspell



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 3:48 pm    Post subject: Muck Drubb / Counterspell Reply with quote

Player 1 is the active player and he casts a Vampire Nighthawk. Player 2 responds by casting Counterspell on the Vampire Nighthawk.
Player 1 responds to the Counterspell by casting Muck Drubb and changing the target of the Counterspell to Muck Drubb instead of Vampire Nighthawk.

Is this legal?


Muck Drubb

Creature - Beast
Flash (You may play this spell any time you could play an instant.) When Muck Drubb comes into play, change the target of target spell that targets only a single creature to Muck Drubb. Madness 2B (If you discard this card, you may play it for its madness cost instead of putting it into your graveyard.)
3/3
Back to top
mysticism



Joined: 25 Mar 2011
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No it is not. Counterspell never target creatures, only creature spells. hence you cannot change the target
Back to top
Conkisstador



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2011 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You cannot make Counterspell target anything but a spell on the stack.

Similarly, you cannot redirect Go For the Throat at Spellskite, or Lightning Bolt at Kor Firewalker.

More similarly, you cannot Naturalize a Mindslaver on the stack.
Back to top
Pushover



Joined: 15 Nov 2008
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2011 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

However you can technically target the GFtT with Spellskite, it just won't have an effect. So if you want to lose life, you can.
Back to top
mysticism



Joined: 25 Mar 2011
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No bob you can never TARGET spellskite with GFtT. Yes you can activate spellskites ability but since spellskite is an invalid taret, the target will not change
Back to top
moscowdemon
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mysticism:
Quote:
However you can technically target the GFtT with Spellskite
hes saying exactly what u are saying...
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy