Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Redirect and Illusions



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 6:10 pm    Post subject: Redirect and Illusions Reply with quote

If a player casts Lightning Bolt on a Phantasmal Dragon and Redirect is cast on the Lightning Bolt changing the target to a player does the Phantasmal Dragon still need to be sacrificed?
Back to top
AppleofEris



Joined: 20 Dec 2006
Posts: 553

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope. The Phantasmal Dragon is targeted when Lightning Bolt is cast, thus the triggered ability of death goes on to stack, to which you respond with redirect. The only way to stop your dragon from dying is with Stifle.
Back to top
moscowdemon
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AppleofEris wrote:
Yes. The Phantasmal Dragon is targeted when Lightning Bolt is cast, thus the triggered ability of death goes on to stack, to which you respond with redirect. The only way to stop your dragon from dying is with Stifle.


just correcting appleoferis so its not confusing Razz
Back to top
AppleofEris



Joined: 20 Dec 2006
Posts: 553

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

moscowdemon wrote:
AppleofEris wrote:
Yes. The Phantasmal Dragon is targeted when Lightning Bolt is cast, thus the triggered ability of death goes on to stack, to which you respond with redirect. The only way to stop your dragon from dying is with Stifle.


just correcting appleoferis so its not confusing Razz


Lol, damnit!
Back to top
syspunk



Joined: 17 Jun 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the text on the illusion cards should have been "successfully targetted". im sure thats what the intent of the cards were. maybe an official ruling would fix it?
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

syspunk wrote:
the text on the illusion cards should have been "successfully targetted". im sure thats what the intent of the cards were. maybe an official ruling would fix it?



There's no such thing as "successfully targeted." The ability triggers when the creature becomes the target of the spell (or ability). What happens to that spell after that doesn't matter, the trigger event has already occurred, the triggered ability is already on the stack.
Back to top
Acid_Christ



Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 799

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the intent of the ability is to have abnormally low casting creatures, with the drawback of if its targeted at all it dies.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy