Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

tezzeret agent of bolas



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Actionjake



Joined: 11 Sep 2009
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 9:24 am    Post subject: tezzeret agent of bolas Reply with quote

ok so his -1 ability says target artifact becomes a 5/5 artifact creature
now is that a 5/5 vanilla artifact creature since it says becomes or does it retain its abilities? i thought since it becomes a 5/5 artifact creature it doesn't say anything about retaining its abilities or other types.
Back to top
sc4rs



Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 859

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it doesn't say anything about losing its abilities, it doesn't lose its abilities. Compare to Turn to Frog, which explicitly states:

"Target creature loses all abilities and becomes a 1/1 blue Frog until end of turn."

If it doesn't have that clause, all it does is change the creature's P/T, and it has no effect on the card's ability text whatsoever.

EDIT: Cards that say "is" instead of "becomes," like Aven Mimeomancer, say "is" because the ability is static, rather than activated. The continuous effect is worded differently but the effect remains the same - as long as it doesn't say "loses all abilities," the only thing affected is the creature's P/T.
Back to top
Actionjake



Joined: 11 Sep 2009
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok thank you i wasnt sure
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy