Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Karn Liberated + Other exiled cards



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Omnom



Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 5:25 am    Post subject: Karn Liberated + Other exiled cards Reply with quote

Say I have cards exiled by a spell/ability other than Karn's (for example Memoricide or Brittle Effigy).

When Karn's third ability, which restarts the game, is activated, are the exiled cards shuffled back into the library?
Back to top
Zeph



Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://gatherer.wizards.com/pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=214350

-14: Restart the game, leaving in exile all non-Aura permanent cards exiled with Karn Liberated. Then put those cards onto the battlefield under your control.
Back to top
Omnom



Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So the cards exiled by Memoricide or other cards get shuffled back into the library?
Back to top
Farseer
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cards exiled by other sources will be shuffled into their owners' libraries.

Only cards exiled by the Karn that is restarting the game will start in play.
Back to top
Zeph



Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im starting to think you are a troll.... the card text is enough to notice they won't get put onto battlefield, so yes, shuffled.
Back to top
moscowdemon
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll help Farseer a bit as some players have trouble with this concept of Exile.
Exile is a zone in a game of Magic. When Karn restarts the game, he takes all cards in all game zones, except the ones he exiled, and shuffles them into their owner's library. Seeing as you now know that Exile is a zone, you can now see that even cards removed by spells such as memoricide will return to their respective deck.

editted for some helpful bolding and underlining
Back to top
Omnom



Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the responses, just wanted to be absolutely sure, since this came up during a game and we couldn't agree on a ruling.
Back to top
Mad03
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lets Make it Harder what if karn exiles a consecrated sphinx and utimates what happens ? what if there are mulligans ? XD
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mad03 wrote:
Lets Make it Harder what if karn exiles a consecrated sphinx and utimates what happens ? what if there are mulligans ? XD


The cards exiled with Karn aren't put on the battlefield until after hands are drawn and mulligans are resolved, so Consecrated Sphinx won't be there to trigger off of drawing the opening hand.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy