Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Melira, Sylvok Outcast



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Tritemio



Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 2:56 am    Post subject: Melira, Sylvok Outcast Reply with quote

But if i controll Melira, Sylvok Outcast can I use ability of Devoted Druid or not?
Back to top
FiReBLT



Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't pay the cost of placing the counter, so no.
Back to top
rdeg87



Joined: 29 Apr 2007
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From the Gatherer


5/1/2008 You put the -1/-1 counter on Devoted Druid as a cost. That means it happens when you activate the ability, not when it resolves. If paying the cost causes the creature to have 0 toughness, it's put into the graveyard before you can untap it and before you can even pay the cost again.

The Gatherer really is an excellent tool being under used. If people checked it half the rule questions would be instantly answered.

p.s I said Half not All, before anyone tries to give out
Back to top
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rdeg87 wrote:
From the Gatherer


5/1/2008 You put the -1/-1 counter on Devoted Druid as a cost. That means it happens when you activate the ability, not when it resolves. If paying the cost causes the creature to have 0 toughness, it's put into the graveyard before you can untap it and before you can even pay the cost again.

The Gatherer really is an excellent tool being under used. If people checked it half the rule questions would be instantly answered.

p.s I said Half not All, before anyone tries to give out


This doesn't sound relevant
Back to top
rdeg87



Joined: 29 Apr 2007
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FiReBLT wrote:
You can't pay the cost of placing the counter, so no.


And I backed this up by quoting the Gatherers ruling here

Quote:
5/1/2008 You put the -1/-1 counter on Devoted Druid as a cost.


So basically you dont sound relevant
Back to top
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rdeg87 wrote:
FiReBLT wrote:
You can't pay the cost of placing the counter, so no.


And I backed this up by quoting the Gatherers ruling here

Quote:
5/1/2008 You put the -1/-1 counter on Devoted Druid as a cost.


So basically you dont sound relevant


Placing the -1/-1 counter is obviously a cost. The question is whether you can pay it and whether the counter will actually be placed. Probably he was hoping to get infinite mana out of it. The gatherer ruling has nothing to do with that.
Back to top
rdeg87



Joined: 29 Apr 2007
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are reading too much into this. And no point were any of those things asked.

The question
Quote:
But if i controll Melira, Sylvok Outcast can I use ability of Devoted Druid or not?


The answer
Quote:
You can't pay the cost of placing the counter, so no.


Then I posted the ruling on Gatherer that backed up Firebolts answer.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy