Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Foreign cards in tourney?



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Delicious



Joined: 08 Jun 2007
Posts: 883

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 9:35 am    Post subject: Foreign cards in tourney? Reply with quote

Im going to a T2 tourney this evening and want to know if foreign cards are legal in a tournament?
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Language of cards has no impact on legality. Whatever is foreign to you (which is not even the same as what's foreign to everyone else) is still legal.
Back to top
MassO



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if your opponent asks you to clarify the foreign card and you can't then it will be a long day for you because your opponents will keep calling judges to get clarification, which if your running Cawblade isn't a bad thing cuz it will be a stall tactic.
Back to top
Blancoke



Joined: 06 Aug 2006
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
if your opponent asks you to clarify the foreign card and you can't


Lol at this, never ask your opponent to translate cards, always call a judge. It's just better, maybe it does take more time but who cares.
Back to top
Kyle1337



Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you ask your opponent to clarify and he says "This card does X" and you then call the judge and He says "This card does Y" Then you could get your opponent a warning or perhaps game loss if he has been doing it before. That'll teach him to bring those funky cards!
Back to top
J_R



Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if your opponent doesn't know what your t2 cards do they probably shouldnt be in the tournament
Back to top
Sandro



Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2011 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

0-0-X strategy bring random homebrew with cards no one plays in different languages. lol. Evil Presence? What's that do?
Back to top
moscowdemon
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2011 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
If you ask your opponent to clarify and he says "This card does X" and you then call the judge and He says "This card does Y" Then you could get your opponent a warning or perhaps game loss if he has been doing it before. That'll teach him to bring those funky cards!


hopefully you are joking about this. you should never lie to a judge or even another player. lying to a judge is grounds for DQ almost immediately.
Back to top
J_R



Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2011 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

moscowdemon wrote:
Quote:
If you ask your opponent to clarify and he says "This card does X" and you then call the judge and He says "This card does Y" Then you could get your opponent a warning or perhaps game loss if he has been doing it before. That'll teach him to bring those funky cards!


hopefully you are joking about this. you should never lie to a judge or even another player. lying to a judge is grounds for DQ almost immediately.



how is this lying to a judge, its your opponent lying to you about what his card does
Back to top
derflippi
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 1402
Location: Weiterstad

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2011 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's legal is to not tell the full truth.
For example, your opponent asks: "What does Day of Judgement do?" I answer: It destroys all your creatures. - that's a legal answer.

It does destroy all his creatures.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2011 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eh.... no, you can't tell half truths about Oracle text:

Derived information is information to which all players are entitled access, but opponents are not obliged to assist in determining and may require some skill or calculation to determine. Derived information includes:

The number of any type of objects present in any game zone.
All characteristics of objects in public zones that are not defined as free information.
Game Rules, Tournament Policy, Oracle content and any other official information pertaining to the current tournament. Cards are considered to have their Oracle text printed on them.


So Oracle text is derived information. And about derived information it says:

Players may not represent derived or free information incorrectly.

Telling half truths is representings it incorrectly in my book.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy