Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Protean Hydra and damage



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:56 pm    Post subject: Protean Hydra and damage Reply with quote

Protean Hydra with 1 counter on it is hit by a Fireball for 10 damage, in response Giant Growth is cast on the Protean Hydra. Will all damage be prevented even after the 1 counter gets used up and the Protean Hydra live?
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2011 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Protean Hydra {XG} |Creature -- Hydra| 0/0 Protean Hydra enters the battlefield with X +1/+1 counters on it. / If damage would be dealt to Protean Hydra, prevent that damage and remove that many +1/+1 counters from it. / Whenever a +1/+1 counter is removed from Protean Hydra, put two +1/+1 counters on it at the beginning of the next end step.


Preventing the damage doesn't depend on removing the +1/+1 counters. They're just two separate things you do when damage would be dealt to it. If part of it is impossible, you still do as much as is possible.
Back to top
MassO



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

although Clariax is a judge, I don't think he clearly answered the question.

1st - the giant growth would make the Hydra a 4/4
2nd - Damage would then be prevented and you take the last counter off, making the hydra a 3/3 until end of turn.
3rd - Since the giant growth last til the end of the next end step, Hydra would activate first, putting 2 1/1 counters on him and then at the end of the end step, giant growths ability is ended.

After all that, your hydra would be a 2/2 with 2 1/1 counters on it.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy