Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Copying another copy - just to confirm



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Ninja87



Joined: 11 Apr 2006
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:38 am    Post subject: Re: Copying another copy - just to confirm Reply with quote

7/15/2007: If the chosen artifact is copying something else (for example, if the chosen artifact is another Sculpting Steel), then your Sculpting Steel enters the battlefield as whatever the chosen artifact copied.

Same applies for Copy Artifact or any other copying triggers.
Back to top
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://draw3cards.com/questions/2049/bloodchief-ascension-with-token-creatures

this guy says name, mana cost, card type, subtype, supertype, expansion symbol, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty are all copyable values.

I think card type refers to artifact/enchantment so that would mean that the card that is doing the copying loses its original card type and becomes the card type of the card it is copying. For example, the Copy Artifact would be an artifact because that is what it is copying so the Copy Enchantment would not work on it.
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Copy Artifact specifically says it's an enchantment in addition to its other types. So Copy Enchantment can copy it.

magicman85 wrote:
http://draw3cards.com/questions/2049/bloodchief-ascension-with-token-creatures

this guy says name, mana cost, card type, subtype, supertype, expansion symbol, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty are all copyable values.

I think card type refers to artifact/enchantment so that would mean that the card that is doing the copying loses its original card type and becomes the card type of the card it is copying. For example, the Copy Artifact would be an artifact because that is what it is copying so the Copy Enchantment would not work on it.
Back to top
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah yeah, reading full oracle text for the win.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy