Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Vigor and damage



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Delicious



Joined: 08 Jun 2007
Posts: 883

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 8:51 pm    Post subject: Vigor and damage Reply with quote

Vigor is on the field with 4 damage. If i pyroclasm and my opponent has 3 creatures on the field, do they get the +1/+1 for the damage or are the creature with less than 2 toughness dead?
Back to top
Pushover



Joined: 15 Nov 2008
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If damage would be dealt to a creature you control other than Vigor, prevent that damage. Put a +1/+1 counter on that creature for each 1 damage prevented this way.

I believe what would happen is that your creatures would have the damage prevented, except for vigor, so they get counters, and vigor takes damage. Vigor has 6 damage after the spell resolves and the ability resolves, so as state based actions are checked, Vigor goes to the graveyard and your creatures are bigger. Not entirely sure, though.
Back to top
Farseer
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bobbob247 is correct.

Vigor is not destroyed until after Pyroclasm has finished resolving and state-based actions are checked.

Therefore, as Pyroclasm resolves, Vigor takes 2 damage and your other creatures get 2 +2/+2 counters. Then, state-based actions are checked and Vigor is destroyed.
Back to top
Pushover



Joined: 15 Nov 2008
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Farseer wrote:
bobbob247 is correct.

Vigor is not destroyed until after Pyroclasm has finished resolving and state-based actions are checked.

Therefore, as Pyroclasm resolves, Vigor takes 2 damage and your other creatures get 2 +2/+2 counters. Then, state-based actions are checked and Vigor is destroyed.

Err, you mean +1/+1 counters.
Back to top
Delicious



Joined: 08 Jun 2007
Posts: 883

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So does that mean if I WoG amd there is a pawn of ulamog on the field, they get a bunch of eldrazi tokens?
Back to top
Farseer
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Card Name: Pawn of Ulamog
Mana Cost: 1BlackBlack
Converted Mana Cost: 3
Types: Creature Vampire Shaman
Card Text: Whenever Pawn of Ulamog or another nontoken creature you control is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, you may put a 0/1 colorless Eldrazi Spawn creature token onto the battlefield. It has "Sacrifice this creature: Add 1 to your mana pool."
P/T: 2 / 2


Yes, Pawn of Ulamog will generate a lot of tokens of you cast Wrath of God / Day of Judgment.

The reason for this is that triggered abilities that trigger on a card being sent to the graveyard from the battlefield check the game state immediately before the card is put into the graveyard.


(Yep, meant +1/+1 counters!)
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy