Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Cunning Sparkmage and Swords



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
BigJoo



Joined: 31 Aug 2007
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 11:27 am    Post subject: Cunning Sparkmage and Swords Reply with quote

If a sparkmage is equpit with a sword of body and mind and i tap to do the player damage dose the sword trigger? Im not sure if the tap damage of Sparkmage is combat damage. If not then what kind of damage is it?
Back to top
Conkisstador



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Damage is damage. Combat damage is a type of Damage.

Just like a creature is a creature. Green creature is a type of creature.

Combat damage is only the damage dealt at the beginning of the combat step by a creature to a creature/player/planeswalker.
Back to top
Farseer
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Combat Damage
Damage dealt during the combat damage step by attacking creatures and blocking creatures as a consequence of combat. See rule 510, “Combat Damage Step.”


Tapping Cunning Sparkmage to deal damage will not trigger the triggered ability of Sword of Body and Mind.

The activated ability of Cunning Sparkmage is not Combat Damage. Combat Damage is a very specific type of damage which must fit into the definition above. Otherwise it is just Damage.
Back to top
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Combat damage is only the damage dealt at the beginning of the combat step by a creature to a creature/player/planeswalker.


Incorrect. You can use the Sparkmage's ability during the combat phase and it is still not combat damage because it is not dealt from attacking.
Back to top
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

magicman85 wrote:
Quote:
Combat damage is only the damage dealt at the beginning of the combat step by a creature to a creature/player/planeswalker.


Incorrect. You can use the Sparkmage's ability during the combat phase *but not at the beginning of the combat damage step, where combat damage is dealt* and it is still not combat damage because it is not dealt from attacking.


If you want to nitpick, you should read more carefully
Back to top
Conkisstador



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@magicman85 "at" implies a specific moment. At the beginning of combat damage step, you CANNOT activat abilities or play spells or tap for mana. Damage gets dealt. THEN triggers go on the stack and players recive priority.
Back to top
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know you meant to say "beginning of the Combat Damage Step", and not the "Beginning of the Combat Step." I was just trying to clarify for the guy.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy