Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

redirect and harrow



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Chefy
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 29 Sep 2009
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Redirect can target Harrow, but there are no target for it to change. The control of Harrow does not change so the person who cast it sacrifices the land upon casting it and gets the lands.
Back to top
Farseer
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Redirect | You may choose new targets for target spell.

Harrow | As an additional cost to cast Harrow, sacrifice a land. // Search your library for up to two basic land cards and put them onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library.


Redirect does not affect Harrow's resolution because Harrow does not "target", i.e. Harrow's ability does not use the word "target". The player who cast Harrow will always get the land.

---

Quote:
Shrapnel Blast | As an additional cost to cast Shrapnel Blast, sacrifice an artifact. // Shrapnel Blast deals 5 damage to target creature or player.


However, if Player A had cast Shrapnel Blast, then Player A would still have to sacrifice the artifact but Player B could choose the new target.

This is because "additional costs" are paid as you cast the spell with all of the other mana costs.
Back to top
Zeph



Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Redirect | You may choose new targets for target spell.

Redirect changes targets of spells, not abilities. Gatekeeper's ability is what targets but not Gatekeeper itself.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy