Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Necrotic ooze + steel hellkite



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
SirMok



Joined: 05 Dec 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:45 am    Post subject: Necrotic ooze + steel hellkite Reply with quote

If i have a steel hellkite in my graveyard and i attack with a necrotic ooze on my field.
Can i activate the copied abillity from steel hellkite on the ooze after he dealt dmg?

Becaus steel hellkite's abillity says if "STEEL HELLKITE deals dmg"
And its actually the ooze.

Hope u can help.
Back to top
Lynolf



Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 546

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not the first time these type of questions are asked in this forums, but whatever...

Having the name of the own card on an effect is EXACTLY the same as having "this card" instead. This is mostly applied in copying effects. So you might as well read: "Destroy each nonland permanent with converted mana cost X whose controller was dealt combat damage by this creature this turn. Activate this ability only once each turn."

Hope this is the last time I see these kind of questions in here... Mr. Green
Back to top
Farseer
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
201. Name

[...]

201.4b If an ability of an object refers to that object by name, and an object with a different name gains that ability, all instances of the first name in the gained ability should be treated as the second name.


Yes. You can activate the activated ability. The above extract from the Comprehensive Rules is proof.
Back to top
SirMok



Joined: 05 Dec 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy