Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tezzeret and Inkmoth nexus?



 
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Avata



Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Posts: 407

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 6:13 pm    Post subject: Tezzeret and Inkmoth nexus? Reply with quote

How do these two cards interact, given that tezzeret's ability (the new one from MBS) to make 5/5s doesn't end at EOT, but the inkmoths ability does?

I use the inkmoth ability to make a 1/1, flying artifact land with infect. Then I use tezzeret's ability, so now I have a 5/5 artifact land with flying and infect.

Then the inkmoth 'until eot' ability wears off, leaving me with a 5/5 artifact land without flying or infect.

If i want to kill my opponent the next turn with poison counters, i have to activate inkmoth again, making him a 1/1 flying infect, and then use tezzeret's ability a second time to make him a 5/5 again.

Is this correct?
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, that all looks correct.
Back to top
TheShark



Joined: 19 Apr 2005
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 9:59 am    Post subject: Nope Reply with quote

Tezzeret's ability always transforms its target into a 5/5 artifact creature WITHOUT any other abilities belonging to the original permament, otherwise it would say so (on Tezzeret).

So it's not a matter of the inkmoth's abilities "wearing off" they simply cease to exist as soon as it becomes a plain 5/5 artifact creature. Therefore, it won't longer be a land, and it won't have any activated abilities anymore.
Back to top
BandaBear



Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:30 am    Post subject: Re: Nope Reply with quote

TheShark wrote:
Tezzeret's ability always transforms its target into a 5/5 artifact creature WITHOUT any other abilities belonging to the original permament, otherwise it would say so (on Tezzeret).

So it's not a matter of the inkmoth's abilities "wearing off" they simply cease to exist as soon as it becomes a plain 5/5 artifact creature. Therefore, it won't longer be a land, and it won't have any activated abilities anymore.
This is wrong
Back to top
Valandor
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 07 Jan 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Opening posts assumptions are correct

TheShark wrote:
Tezzeret's ability always transforms its target into a 5/5 artifact creature WITHOUT any other abilities belonging to the original permament, otherwise it would say so (on Tezzeret).


That is only true when it actually says that it loses all of its ability.
Back to top
Bob_A_Wilson



Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Posts: 241

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:09 pm    Post subject: Re: Nope Reply with quote

TheShark wrote:
Tezzeret's ability always transforms its target into a 5/5 artifact creature WITHOUT any other abilities belonging to the original permament, otherwise it would say so (on Tezzeret).

So it's not a matter of the inkmoth's abilities "wearing off" they simply cease to exist as soon as it becomes a plain 5/5 artifact creature. Therefore, it won't longer be a land, and it won't have any activated abilities anymore.


Read this: http://www.wizards.com/magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=judge/article/20091105a
Back to top
Bigshow



Joined: 07 Apr 2005
Posts: 1374
Location: Igloo town

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 1:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Nope Reply with quote

TheShark wrote:
Tezzeret's ability always transforms its target into a 5/5 artifact creature WITHOUT any other abilities belonging to the original permament, otherwise it would say so (on Tezzeret).

So it's not a matter of the inkmoth's abilities "wearing off" they simply cease to exist as soon as it becomes a plain 5/5 artifact creature. Therefore, it won't longer be a land, and it won't have any activated abilities anymore.


LOLOLOL
Back to top
Tao



Joined: 22 Dec 2007
Posts: 864

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remember what I said about banning non-judges from replying on the rules forums?
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wrong answers are bad, of course. The random bits of non-answer commentary, which are far more prevalent, are arguably worse, and are what typically leads to topics being locked, which I'm doing now as this has been definitively answered.

jonproject wrote:
Remember what I said about banning non-judges from replying on the rules forums?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy