Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Necrotic Ooze + Phyrexian Devourer



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
seedub



Joined: 10 Apr 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 8:22 am    Post subject: Necrotic Ooze + Phyrexian Devourer Reply with quote

with necrotic ooze in play and phyrexian devourer in the graveyard, will ooze die if u activate the ability and its power is greater than 6?

i realize ooze doesnt gain static abilities: its important to know that devourer has an errata. its ability now reads:

"Exile the top card of your library: Put X +1/+1 counters on Phyrexian Devourer, where X is the exiled card's converted mana cost. If Phyrexian Devourer's power is 7 or greater, sacrifice it."

the confusion comes in because the ability specifically cites the name of the card, which isnt present on ooze; so does ooze ignore the last part of the ability based on not being named "Phyrexian Devourer"? seems like it should but also seems to go against the spirit of the ability and ive never seen any kind of ruling on card card with an ability that names itself but is on a card with a different name.
Back to top
memobaena



Joined: 26 Jun 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well i think the ooze does not ignore that last part of the devourer 's ability, because as far as i know when a card says "card name" it means "This Object". which means in the ability reads like : "Exile the top card of your library: Put X +1/+1 counters on "this object", where X is the exiled card's converted mana cost. If "this object" power is 7 or greater, sacrifice it."

so the ability for the ooze reads "Exile the top card of your library: Put X +1/+1 counters on "necrotic ooze", where X is the exiled card's converted mana cost. If "necrotic ooze" power is 7 or greater, sacrifice it."

i hope i've given you a clear answer. excuse my english is not my native language.
Back to top
AMER



Joined: 23 Nov 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Devourer has been errata'd to say "Exile the top card of your library: Put X +1/+1 counters on Phyrexian Devourer, where X is the exiled card's converted mana cost. If Phyrexian Devourer's power is 7 or greater, sacrifice it"

If you use the ability with necrotic ooze, and let it resolve the Ooze will have to be sacrificed.

You get to see the card before you choose to let it resolve, you cna do it again with it still on the stack.
Back to top
seedub



Joined: 10 Apr 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

memobaena wrote:
Well i think the ooze does not ignore that last part of the devourer 's ability, because as far as i know when a card says "card name" it means "This Object". which means in the ability reads like : "Exile the top card of your library: Put X +1/+1 counters on "this object", where X is the exiled card's converted mana cost. If "this object" power is 7 or greater, sacrifice it."

so the ability for the ooze reads "Exile the top card of your library: Put X +1/+1 counters on "necrotic ooze", where X is the exiled card's converted mana cost. If "necrotic ooze" power is 7 or greater, sacrifice it."

i hope i've given you a clear answer. excuse my english is not my native language.


thank you

AMER wrote:
Devourer has been errata'd to say "Exile the top card of your library: Put X +1/+1 counters on Phyrexian Devourer, where X is the exiled card's converted mana cost. If Phyrexian Devourer's power is 7 or greater, sacrifice it"

If you use the ability with necrotic ooze, and let it resolve the Ooze will have to be sacrificed.

You get to see the card before you choose to let it resolve, you cna do it again with it still on the stack.


it helps to read the whole statement if youre going to answer someones rules question. u clearly didnt or ud realize i already pointed out the errata myself
Back to top
WildCard
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 802
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This combo has been used in Legacy in some survival builds. With the Devourer and a triskilion on the yard, you now have a card that removes the top card of your library to put counters on him and use them to ping your opponent. IF you happen to reveal a card that would bring the oozez power to greater then 7, just keep that ability on the stack and respond to it by revealing another, until you kill your opponent..
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy