Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Ratchet bomb vs Proliferate and some other questions



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
YvesHenri



Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 7:27 am    Post subject: Ratchet bomb vs Proliferate and some other questions Reply with quote

1 - I have a Ratchet Bomb with 2 counters on it, the opponent has a lot of cost 2 permanents and a Contagion Clasp. I sacrifice Ratchet Bomb and in response he uses the Contagion Clasp ability (proliferate). Does bomb kill all the cost 2 permanents?

2 - I have a Ratchet Bomb with 2 counters on it, the opponent has a lot of cost 2 permanents and a Vampire Hexamage. I sacrifice Ratchet Bomb and in response he sacrifices the Vampire Hexamage. Does the bomb kill all the cost 2 permanents?

Also, stacking damage doesnt work anymore, right?

I had some other questions in mind but I just forgot them... Sad
Please stay around, Ill post them as soon as I remember...
Back to top
Xerocious



Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ratched Bomb has
"T, Sacrifice Ratchet Bomb: Destroy each nonland permanent with converted mana cost equal to the number of charge counters on Ratchet Bomb."

So, while you have priority and activate the ability, the Bomb is gone, before Clasp/Hexmage can change the number of counters on it.
Back to top
Farseer
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 12:01 pm    Post subject: Re: Ratchet bomb vs Proliferate and some other questions Reply with quote

YvesHenri wrote:
Also, stacking damage doesnt work anymore, right?


Combat damage no longer uses the stack, e.g. you can no longer deal combat damage with Mogg Fanatic and use its activated ability to kill a 2/2 creature blocking it.
Back to top
YvesHenri



Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 1:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Ratchet bomb vs Proliferate and some other questions Reply with quote

Farseer wrote:
YvesHenri wrote:
Also, stacking damage doesnt work anymore, right?


Combat damage no longer uses the stack, e.g. you can no longer deal combat damage with Mogg Fanatic and use its activated ability to kill a 2/2 creature blocking it.


Yea I heard that. That sucks. Why is that by the way?
Back to top
NahHolmes



Joined: 13 Jan 2005
Posts: 738

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It gives them more room to design creatures with better sac abilities.
Back to top
Kookie_Mnstr



Joined: 09 Feb 2010
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xerocious wrote:
Ratched Bomb has
"T, Sacrifice Ratchet Bomb: Destroy each nonland permanent with converted mana cost equal to the number of charge counters on Ratchet Bomb."

So, while you have priority and activate the ability, the Bomb is gone, before Clasp/Hexmage can change the number of counters on it.


but couldn't the person remove the counters off your ratchet bomb in response to you tapping it?
Back to top
Alphakiller



Joined: 26 Oct 2008
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when you look at an activated ability, which is an ability containing a colon, (Cost : <== (colon) Effect), Everything before the Colon is a Cost.

what happens is your opponent announces that he is activating ratchet bomb's ability. he pays the costs: tap ratchet bomb, sacrifice ratchet bomb.

now that he has paid for the costs, ratchet bomb's ability is placed on the stack. now that an ability is on the stack, you may respond. the only issue is that there is no longer a ratchet bomb to interact with. since you can't change the number of counters on a permanent that isn't there, the ability can't be changed in that it'll destroy all cost 2 permanents.
Back to top
Kookie_Mnstr



Joined: 09 Feb 2010
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ahhh thanks for clearing that up
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy