Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Vengeful Archon



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Tritemio



Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:59 am    Post subject: Vengeful Archon Reply with quote

If Vengeful Archon isn't into play when the damage is prevented, the Vengeful Archon make damage or not?
Back to top
Sigil



Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 12:33 pm    Post subject: Re: Vengeful Archon Reply with quote

Tritemio wrote:
If Vengeful Archon isn't into play when the damage is prevented, the Vengeful Archon make damage or not?



...If the Archon isn't in play, you can't prevent the damage in the first place. His ability is an activated ability that requires him on the battlefield. So you can't prevent the damage in the first place.
Back to top
Sigil



Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Durango wrote:
Of course if you were to use his ability prior to a removal spell that turn the damage will still be prevented.


Okay if THAT'S what he meant, now it makes sense...
Back to top
ody



Joined: 19 Nov 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think he means something like:

Lighting bolt -> archon ability in response -> doom blade in resposne.

i think you resolve the ability prevent the damage but archon is not in play to deal the damage to your opponent.
Back to top
coolcreep



Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 588

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It would still deal the damage. If you doom blade a prodigal pyromancer in response to his ability, does he still do the damage? Yes. The same is true here.
Back to top
ody



Joined: 19 Nov 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm yes true. don't now what i was thinking and said no.
Back to top
Tritemio



Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ody wrote:
i think he means something like:

Lighting bolt -> archon ability in response -> doom blade in resposne.

i think you resolve the ability prevent the damage but archon is not in play to deal the damage to your opponent.


yes, i thinked somthing like this....
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vengeful Archon does not have to be in play when the damage is dealt, or even when its own ability resolves, for its ability to function completely. The Archon will still prevent the damage, and will still deal the damage to the target.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy