Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tiggered abilities question (Dredge and Landfall)



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
warwizard87



Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes each draw can be replaced by a dredge trigger. Ie dredge is a replacement effect only 1 cards can replace any single card draw. so if i were to draw 2 cars i can dredge twice. heck i can for example cast careful study, dredge the imp im yard out, the dredge hits another imp, i can replace the second draw with the new imp.

landfall is a triggered ability, so 1 land can effect any number of land fall effects
Back to top
IgnisFatuus



Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The key difference between your two examples is that Dredge is a Replacement Effect while Landfall abilities are triggered (usually).

Replacement Effects are usually indicated by the word "instead," and so they effect happens instead of the original event. The original event never happens. A single event cannot be replaced more than once.

Triggered abilities only check for a certain event to occur, and when that event occurs they make a new event occur. So, the original event and the new event both occur.

Let's say you cast Ancestral Recall. You should note that "draw X cards" actually functions as "Draw a card X times in sequence." So, drawing three cards is the same as three separate draw effects. In your computer analogy, Dregde works like this:

Ancestral Recall says "draw your first card."
Q: Would you draw a card?
A: Yes
Then you may replace the first draw event with the Dredge effect. The draw never happens, and it can only be replaced once. Thus, the second Stinkweed Imp ability does not try to replace this draw.

Ancestral Recall says "draw your second card."
Q: Would you draw a card?
A: Yes
Then you may replace the second draw event with the Dredge effect from the second Stinkweed Imp (since the first will be in your hand by this point). The process repeats again for the third draw event. You can Dredge again if there is another Dredge card in your graveyard.

If you were only going to draw one card, the the answer to the second question would be "No," since the draw was replaced by the first Dredge effect.

The triggered ability is simpler. Your Bloodghasts are asking "Did you play a land?". The land still comes into play, and this can trigger multiple events. In the computer analogy:

Q: (From Bloodghast #1) Did you play a land?
A: Yes.
Then you may return Bloodghast #1 to play.

Q: (From Bloodghast #2) Did you play a land?
A: Yes. (The answer doesn't change, since the event was not replaced.)
Then you may return Bloodghast #2 to play. The pattern is the same for all other Bloodghasts or cards with Landfall.

I hope this helped.
Back to top
MaksymGryn



Joined: 05 Sep 2008
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

also worth noting,

even if you have only 1 imp in your graveyard and then you cast recall, if you hit another imp of the first dredge, you can then dredge that one because dredge acts as a replacement effect and so the dredged cards are in your graveyard prior to you moving onto the second instance of drawing a card.
Back to top
Ffancrzy
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 258

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to further enforce this, Dredge is NOT a triggered ability, it is a replacement effect.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy