Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Oblivion Ring v/s the big fat Emrakul


Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
wizmo



Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 11:00 am    Post subject: o ring Reply with quote

it is white isnt it? then it has protection, rendering ur o-ring useless.
my advice is to win before he has 500 mana
Back to top
Spyx



Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 1188

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It applies to aura's, but not to oblivion ring. While o-ring is on the stack it doesn't target yet, only when it comes into play (not a spell anymore) does it target, so it can take out emrakul. You can also take control of him with sower of temptation.
Back to top
toor



Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oblivion Ring is allowed to target Emrakul (100% sure).

Auras cannot target Emrakul except Eldrazi conscription etc..(100% sure)

If you cheat an aura into play (say through replenish or Zur) it can attach to Emrakul (95% sure).

Spells refer to things on the stack. So a creature or enchantment is a spell when its on the stack. once in play (which O-Ring is when it targets) Emrakuls ability does nothing.
Back to top
SniperMayer



Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 290

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well it doesn't matter, because you just die before you can cast an O-ring on Emrakul. Very Happy

But yeah, it can be exiled by the ring.
Back to top
wizmo



Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 11:12 am    Post subject: ring Reply with quote

guess im wrong, i still dont really follow the reasoning.
Back to top
kumagmd



Joined: 15 Feb 2009
Posts: 307

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Emrakul has protection from coloured SPELLS. O-ring isn't a spell anymore when it hits play. The same with other auras that goes directly into play, if you cast them, they were cast as SPELLS targeting a valid target.
Back to top
Chatzuk



Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 11:27 am    Post subject: Oh the messy answers Reply with quote

Emrakul has protection from colored spells. Oblivion Ring is a spell when cast, but it is NOT an aura, it's an enchantment that has a come into play ability. So, when O-ring targets Emrakul it is a permanent, not a spell, and can remove him. An aura would target Emrakul when you cast it, so unless it was colorless you couldn't cast it. Think of auras as sorceries that stay in play instead of going to graveyard, again, not the case with o-ring.
Back to top
Bob_A_Wilson



Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Posts: 241

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very interesting.
Back to top
Lynolf



Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 546

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I heard the "Collar Sparkmage" combo is pretty good vs. Emrakul. Mr. Green
Back to top
six
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah these people are mostly right. especially maluko. though how he managed to stop running awful gw cards and start running sick red cards is beyond me.

oblivion ring does not target as a spell. it targets as a permanent.
Back to top
Bob_A_Wilson



Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Posts: 241

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So the correct way to play oblivion ring is

Me plays O-Ring
Me: Okay?
Opp: Okay
Me: Target, your momma
Opp: Nooo....
Back to top
Bob_A_Wilson



Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Posts: 241

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This just popped into my brain.

Say Mogg Fanatic is on the field.

I put an oblivion ring into play, it hits the field, I target Mogg. Can Mogg still sacrifice in response?
Back to top
AncientSion



Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HailEris wrote:
This just popped into my brain.

Say Mogg Fanatic is on the field.

I put an oblivion ring into play, it hits the field, I target Mogg. Can Mogg still sacrifice in response?


of course.
Back to top
SniperMayer



Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 290

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HailEris wrote:
This just popped into my brain.

Say Mogg Fanatic is on the field.

I put an oblivion ring into play, it hits the field, I target Mogg. Can Mogg still sacrifice in response?

This looks like this:

Y: Play Oblivion Ring. OK?
O: OK
Y: Ring enters battlefield, ability goes on stack.
O: In response I sac my Fanatic. (this ability goes on stack also and resolves before Ring's ability)
Y: Damn... (assuming there are no viable targets)
Back to top
babaganouch



Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"damn" if you already targeted mogg fanatic.
You have to choose your target upon o-rings ability going on the stack. meaning after o-ring hits the board as permanent.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy