Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Elvish Piper activation = "casting?"



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Malakai97
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 11 Aug 2007
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If "put into play" were considered "casting," then it would be called "casting."
Back to top
tchiseen



Joined: 08 Mar 2010
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The answer is no. The Baneslayer is not 'cast' as a spell. It's similar for Unearth - the creature is put into play.

For example, you use an Elvish Piper to put a Bloodbraid Elf into play, the cascade effect does not trigger.
Back to top
Tao



Joined: 22 Dec 2007
Posts: 864

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Malakai97 wrote:
If "put into play" were considered "casting," then it would be called "casting."


That's not being a dick. That's explaining exactly what's going on here, and pretty much exactly what a judge would say if you asked for a ruling.
Back to top
Ffancrzy
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 258

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In fact the whole reason the term cast was coined is to avoid the old confusion between "Play" (cast) and "Put into play"
Back to top
ant900



Joined: 11 Oct 2004
Posts: 2525
Location: somewhere

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

b4il3y wrote:
If a judge told me that...I'd calmly leave before I called him a dick.

There's a right and wrong way to communicate...


and there is a right and wrong way to read cards. Magic has a habit of saying exactly what it means =/

On that note though, Malaki could have been slightly more friendly.
Back to top
Vedrfolner



Joined: 04 Apr 2006
Posts: 2325

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 5:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If Malaki said "a magic card always does exactly what it says, and it always does not do what it does not say" and then added what he said, I think it wouldn't have been confused with "being a dick".

Elvish Piper says "G, Tap: You may put a creature card from your hand onto the battlefield"

This means that since it doesn't use the word "play" it does not cast a spell. It has a colon so it is an activated ability. It says "creature card" so he doesn't put anything else than a creature onto the battlefield. It says "may" so you do not _have_ to put a creature onto the battlefield (you may choose not to). It says "from your hand" so the zone cannot be your graveyard, library or exile zones.

Read all the cards this way, and the only things you have to look up or ask judges about will be things that the cards themselves does not say. For instance layers, piority and such things.


Last edited by Vedrfolner on Mon Mar 15, 2010 5:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Bantos86



Joined: 28 Nov 2009
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

b4il3y wrote:
If a judge told me that...I'd calmly leave before I called him a dick.

There's a right and wrong way to communicate...


At least he gave you a correct ruling.

Quote:
<%Ehri> dont complain :/
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy