Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Combo or bombo?



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
niknight



Joined: 14 Oct 2004
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The combo only works as long as you have more than 1 Amulet in play. The reason for this is that comboing like that without producing any measurable result is, by definition, Cheating - Stalling.
Back to top
Jedidawn



Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

niknight wrote:
The combo only works as long as you have more than 1 Amulet in play. The reason for this is that comboing like that without producing any measurable result is, by definition, Cheating - Stalling.

I'm fairly sure you can make it legally a draw, it was a favourite tactic of dragon combo players
Back to top
R3wind



Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 1386

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would it really matter if you just Banefired them out of the game? Manga would work also. So you need one more color and a card to win with. Green for Lotus Cobra comes to mind. Banefire, Emira Angel, and Invoke the Firemind all would work to win. Seems janky at best.
Back to top
Bantos86



Joined: 28 Nov 2009
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mister_gaga wrote:
Out of curiosity, how do you need more than 1 amulet of vigor?

Also, when you finally decide to break this combo, you will have no lands in play, because all the bounce-a-land triggers will have to resolve.


Because there needs to be some kind of point to what you're doing. With only one Amulet, all you're doing is bouncing the same land over and over for the sake of bouncing it over and over. With two or more, however, you actually have a sort of mana engine, which justifies bouncing the same land over and over.
Back to top
niknight



Joined: 14 Oct 2004
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ JediDawn: The Dragon player may only make the game a draw if there are no other creatures that he can reanimate. If there is another legal target for the animate dead, he must eventually choose it.


The reason that you need more than one amulet (assuming nothing else involved) is due to a phrase called "advancing the gamestate". Any action that you take must somehow bring the game closer to a conclusion. Without the second amulet, or something else that has a landfall effect, eventually you will be in the exact same position at the end of one iteration of the loop as you were at the before it. This is why you can't repeatedly tap Seeker of Skybreak to untap itself and end the game in a draw.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy