Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Raging Ravine


Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
DARKING
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure it does. Unless noted otherwise, counters on permanents are not removed.
Back to top
Alphakiller



Joined: 26 Oct 2008
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

why would they print it as a +1/+1 counter, and not +1/+1 until end of turn, if that was the rule?
Back to top
Kamperfoelie



Joined: 14 May 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can I activate my Raging Ravine twice to get 2 +1/+1 counters when I attack?
Back to top
gypsy



Joined: 15 Jun 2007
Posts: 1671

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kamperfoelie wrote:
Can I activate my Raging Ravine twice to get 2 +1/+1 counters when I attack?


yes
Back to top
Bantos86



Joined: 28 Nov 2009
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alphakiller wrote:
why would they print it as a +1/+1 counter, and not +1/+1 until end of turn, if that was the rule?


Because perhaps the entire idea is to make it keep getting stronger with each attack, kinda like how the flavor of R/G is most times flat-out savage viciousness?
Back to top
DeadCities



Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gypsy wrote:
Kamperfoelie wrote:
Can I activate my Raging Ravine twice to get 2 +1/+1 counters when I attack?


yes


wrong.

Whenever this creature attacks, put a +1/+1 counter on it
Back to top
BL



Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DeadCities wrote:
gypsy wrote:
Kamperfoelie wrote:
Can I activate my Raging Ravine twice to get 2 +1/+1 counters when I attack?


yes


wrong.

Whenever this creature attacks, put a +1/+1 counter on it


You are double wrong. You are wrong for being wrong and you were cocky while being wrong.

Two activations, two triggers, two counters.
Back to top
Kienan



Joined: 09 Dec 2007
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DeadCities wrote:
gypsy wrote:
Kamperfoelie wrote:
Can I activate my Raging Ravine twice to get 2 +1/+1 counters when I attack?


yes


wrong.

Whenever this creature attacks, put a +1/+1 counter on it


Wrong, yourself. You can activate it multiple times and the triggers will stack. The triggers will stick around until end of turn, and they won't be overwritten.

Until end of turn, Raging Ravine becomes a 3/3 red and green Elemental creature with "Whenever this creature attacks, put a +1/+1 counter on it." It's still a land.

So if you activate it twice it will be a 3/3 red and green Elemental with "Whenever this creature attacks, put a +1/+1 counter on it" and "Whenever this creature attacks, put a +1/+1 counter on it." Thus when you attack both will trigger, and you will get two +1/+1 counters.

EDIT: Ninja'd... Rolling Eyes
Back to top
asamodious



Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 362

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kienan wrote:
DeadCities wrote:
gypsy wrote:
Kamperfoelie wrote:
Can I activate my Raging Ravine twice to get 2 +1/+1 counters when I attack?


yes


wrong.

Whenever this creature attacks, put a +1/+1 counter on it


Wrong, yourself. You can activate it multiple times and the triggers will stack. The triggers will stick around until end of turn, and they won't be overwritten.

Until end of turn, Raging Ravine becomes a 3/3 red and green Elemental creature with "Whenever this creature attacks, put a +1/+1 counter on it." It's still a land.

So if you activate it twice it will be a 3/3 red and green Elemental with "Whenever this creature attacks, put a +1/+1 counter on it" and "Whenever this creature attacks, put a +1/+1 counter on it." Thus when you attack both will trigger, and you will get two +1/+1 counters.

EDIT: Ninja'd... Rolling Eyes




You clearly took way to long to type that post. You were indeed expertly ninja'd. Well played.
Back to top
DeadCities



Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

horrible !
Back to top
asamodious



Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 362

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DeadCities wrote:
horrible !
yes you are
Back to top
DeadCities



Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sure i am.
Back to top
Bantos86



Joined: 28 Nov 2009
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DeadCities wrote:
sure i am.


Awesome. We now have proof of you admitting such.

Screencap'd for great justice.
Back to top
Khudzlin



Joined: 02 Jan 2010
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wouldn't "becomes" mean that the text given by the 2nd activation overwrites the text given by the first?
Back to top
Kienan



Joined: 09 Dec 2007
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Khudzlin wrote:
wouldn't "becomes" mean that the text given by the 2nd activation overwrites the text given by the first?


I admit it's a little confusing, but no. In the case of setting power and toughness, yes, it will overwrite the previous activation, but the triggers will stack, since there is no conflict. A creature can only have one value for power/toughness at a time, but can have multiple abilities at the same time. So since it doesn't read

"Until end of turn, Raging Ravine becomes a 3/3 red and green Elemental creature. It gains "Whenever this creature attacks, put a +1/+1 counter on it," and loses all other abilities. It's still a land".

The above may not be the best explanation, so I'll back up my stance with Gatherer; see Genju of the Fields for comparison.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy