Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Zendikon



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Tritemio



Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 4:52 am    Post subject: Zendikon Reply with quote

what happen if a land enchanted with a Zendikon is enchanted whit Spreading Seas??? is still a creature?
Back to top
Astarael



Joined: 24 Mar 2006
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's still a creature, Spreading Seas just changes the land subtype to Island and removes all abilities.
Back to top
Tritemio



Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

uhmmm so if i use Wind Zendikon loose flying?
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wind Zendikon.

If the Zendikon is already on there and then Spreading Seas is used, it will lose flying yes. It will still be a 2/2 blue creature though.

If the Spreading Seas was put on there first, it will still have flying.
Back to top
Khudzlin



Joined: 02 Jan 2010
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

changing the subtype of a land removes only printed abilities (including the implicit mana production abilities associated with basic land types), not ones derived from other effects

imo, Spreading Seas would not remove flying, because it's not printed on the land itself
Back to top
Andarel



Joined: 06 Mar 2008
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Going off the latest comprehensive rules:

305.7. If an effect changes a landís subtype to one or more of the basic land types, the land no longer has its old land type. It loses all abilities generated from its rules text and its old land types, and it gains the appropriate mana ability for each new basic land type. Note that this doesnít remove any abilities that were granted to the land by other effects. Changing a landís subtype doesnít add or remove any card types (such as creature) or supertypes (such as basic, legendary, and snow) the land may have.

As far as I can tell, the land loses any printed abilities it has, but retains flying and is still a 2/2 creature.

Edit: Slightly different topic but same question, came to the same conclusion I reached: http://forums.mtgsalvation.com/showthread.php?t=214449

Swamp
Basic Land - Swamp
T: Add B to your mana pool

becomes

Swamp
Basic Creature Land - Island
Flying
T: Add U to your mana pool
2/2

no matter when you play the two cards.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy