Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Old doubt!



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Kamahl95



Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 9:11 am    Post subject: Old doubt! Reply with quote

Some years ago, in a LRW/LRW/MOR draft, i saw the following situation:

- The G/B deck taps out for a Chameleon Colossus with an Imperious Perfect in play.

- At EOT, the other player (R/W) plays Consuming Bonfire targeting the Colossus.

What happens?

Does the Colossus take 4, because he is not an Elemental?
Does the Colossus take 7, because he is a Treefolk?
Or does it take no damage, because he is an Elemental?

This is an old doubt i would like to see answered.
Back to top
ynnus



Joined: 26 Dec 2006
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it takes 7 because it is a treefolk.
Back to top
chakal-PT



Joined: 02 Mar 2009
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Choose one Consuming Bonfire deals 4 damage to target non-Elemental creature; or Consuming Bonfire deals 7 damage to target Treefolk creature.

Well, cause Colossus has Changeling (This card is every creature type at all times.), he's an Elemental creature, so you can only target him with the 7 damage cause he's a treefolk too.
Back to top
iSperia
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

chakal is absolute correct: you just can't choose 4 damage mode since colossus is no legal target for it
Back to top
OldBear



Joined: 12 Apr 2005
Posts: 1840

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just want to point out the key part to the ruling is that in the 7 damage option there is no drawback of not being able to target an elemental you can just only target treefolk.

This is more a simple not reading the card properly problem i did the exact same thing with this card.
Back to top
Kamahl95



Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the answer!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy