Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Friday night magic happenings



 
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
IkeReilly



Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The first play is perfectly legal and correct.
The game has phases and steps: There is the beginning phase with the Untap-Upkeep-Draw steps. Players can't initiate any actions in the untap step. But the upkeep step is a perfectly legal time to play instants. So as long as he used one he could destroy the dreams before he drew.
There is more about how to deal with a missed draw but I don't know that procedure.
Back to top
darkwizard42
Level 2 Judge


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In Magic there are phases.

Your opponent is likely in their Main Phase or Second Main Phase. They tap the Fores and Swamp, and now have a B, and G mana floating in their mana pool. (Mana pools empty at each phase). Then using Garruk's ability they untapped two lands, and were able to add an additional B and G to their pools, bringing their total mana pool to BBGG.

3. If you cascade and reach a card with lower converted mana cost, you are allowed to either play it without paying its mana cost, or you can choose not to play it, and it goes on the bottom of your library with all the other cards. You may NOT continue revealing cards.

3. Rite of Replication will copy all aspects of the creature. It will put an exact copy, this copies abilities, power, and toughness.

Hope this helps, the above explanation for problem 2. is pretty reasonable
Back to top
Conkisstador



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mana goes into a manapool to be used to cast spells. you can tap forest and swamp for BG in pool. then use garruk +1 and untap those lands to untap more land and produce more BBB.

cascade you must play the first card that has a lesser CC than the spell. think a little... otherwise you could play 20 1-ofs in your deck and CHOOSE which to paly every time you cascade. cascade spells would be imbalanced.

the "start of turn" phase is divided into 3 steps. Untap-Upkeep-Draw. Use a cadence every turn you take so you grind that into your mind. UNtap Upkeep Draw. Neither player can doa nything during the untap step, but the active player untaps all of his permanents. immediately you proceed into the Upkeep. Both players have priority to play spells or abilities. After both players pass in the Upkeep you go to the drawstep and draw a card. you do not skip this draw for any reason unless a card tells you to do so. both players should keept track to make sure this card is drawn. if a permanent is in paly that has a 'draw' trigger like Underworld Dreams, you will lose 1 life. You cannot respond to the trigger by killing underworld dreams to avoid it. Abilities do no leave the stack until they are countered or resolve. If you bounce a Howling Mine or Underworld Dreams during the upkeep, it will not do anthing during the Draw step as they are no longer on the battlefield.

cascade is not drawing at all- it is revealing cards untila condition is met. you can choose to not play the cascaded card BUT you do NOT get to continue. cascade is done.

Rite of Replication: the token is a copy of the CARD it hits, not the extras on it. If it is a kazandu blademaster then it will come into play, and thus trigger and get a +1 +1 counter. but if your opponent has a 1/1 blademaster with 5 counters, you do not get those.
Back to top
pascal3000
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 02 Sep 2009
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Solemn Offering wont work that way though, because it is a sorcery.

Sorceries have to be played during either your pre- or post-combat-mainphases and while the stack is empty. Casting a sorcery shows that you are in one of your main phases, both of which are happening AFTER your draw phase in each of your turns.
You cant play a sorcery to destroy the underworld dreams and then still draw a card from your draw step, as you are then already past your draw.

Then again, if you use an instant on your upkeep, so before your draw step, you will be able to destroy the enchanment and still draw a card.
An example of a card that would work this way in standard would be tempest of light...
Back to top
Shagrath



Joined: 24 Feb 2005
Posts: 241

PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 5:06 am    Post subject: lol Reply with quote

I stopped reading this post when i read this:

"EDIT: Cascade rule: If you start cascade and draw a card that has less converted mana cost, can decide not to play and keep drawing?
"
How about reading the cards instead of asking dumb questions?

When ppl post this sort of things, they are asking to be flamed.
Back to top
Vedrfolner



Joined: 04 Apr 2006
Posts: 2325

PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 5:13 am    Post subject: Re: lol Reply with quote

Shagrath wrote:
I stopped reading this post when i read this:

"EDIT: Cascade rule: If you start cascade and draw a card that has less converted mana cost, can decide not to play and keep drawing?
"
How about reading the cards instead of asking dumb questions?

When ppl post this sort of things, they are asking to be flamed.


If he doesn't really know about mana pools, card types like instants, or phases, why do you think that he should understand how Cascade works?
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shagrath, there is no such thing as a dumb question, only dumb responses.

It may not have been the most advanced question, but there is no rule against simple questions.

I'm closing this thread because I think the question was answered. King_Joma, just make a new thread if you have more questions.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy