Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Sea Drake



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Vodka_drink



Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 1145
Location: Brampton O

PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:57 pm    Post subject: Sea Drake Reply with quote

Hello peeps!

so lets assume i only have 1 land in play. do i still return it with sea drake? or does nothing happen because i don't have the two lands so the effect isn't legal?

Thanks.
Back to top
gypsy



Joined: 15 Jun 2007
Posts: 1671

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you dont have to return your land
Back to top
Pillsburry



Joined: 17 Oct 2009
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, you can't legally target two lands so it fizzles. So you don't return your land.
Back to top
Insom



Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Really? I would have thought it worked like Khalni Gem where you do have to return the 1 land.
Back to top
AMER



Joined: 23 Nov 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because it doesn't say "Up to" 2 lands it requires 2 and nothing else so it fizzles
Back to top
gypsy



Joined: 15 Jun 2007
Posts: 1671

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gem says return two lands, Sea Drake says return two target lands. if there is only 1 land to target the ability cannot resolve
Back to top
Insom



Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ruling on the gem from wizards.com is "If you don't control any lands by the time Khalni Gem's triggered ability resolves, nothing happens. If you control just one, you'll have to return it to its owner's hand. Khalni Gem isn't affected in either case."
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you control only 1 land when Sea Drake enters the battlefield, then its ability doesn't go on the stack at all. The ability requires 2 targets, if the necessary number of legal targets are not available, it can't go on the stack. The ability doesn't "fizzle" (an obsolete term for "countered on resolution") since it's never even on the stack.

If 2 lands are controlled when the ability goes on the stack (so both are targetted) and only one is still there when the ability resolves, then that one land is returned. Once it's on the stack, as long as at least one target is still legal the ability will resolve and do as much as possible
Back to top
Insom



Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for being dense. Thank you for the explanation.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy