Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Token question



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Merlknight



Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not a mistake, and they are by no means immune to the effect. If a token would leave play it is destroyed. Its just part of the rules for tokens.
Back to top
Conkisstador



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's not true.
if a token goes to any zone other than the battlefield, it ceases to exist the next time the game-state checks for it. bant charm DoES put the token on the bottom of the library- and then it ceases to exist.
Back to top
magryn



Joined: 26 Oct 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Conkisstador is correct,

If a token would be put anywhere other than the battlefield, it goes there just like any other card would. Then any triggers happen that look at stuff like that:

For instance if you have a Death Pact in play, and one of your zombie tokens dies, then it will go to the graveyard and the trigger for Grave Pact will happen but before the effect goes on the stack, state based effects will check to see if there are any irregularities in the game. As you pointed out having a token on the bottom of the library or in a graveyard is certainly an irregularity and as such the token will cease to exist by means of state based effects. Following this, the Grave Pact trigger will go on the stack and each other player will have to sacrifice a creature after each player has passed priority with the Grave Pact trigger on the stack.
Back to top
thomasdm



Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

216.3. A token in a zone other than the in-play zone ceases to exist. This is a state-based effect. (Note
that a token changing zones sets off triggered abilities before the token ceases to exist.) Once a
token has left play, it canít be returned to play by any means.

That's what I found =P
Back to top
Vulpi



Joined: 08 Jun 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What happens if a token phases out ?
Back to top
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it phases out it is not in the play zone so I assume it would be removed from the game.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1) Tokens are not removed from the game, they cease to exist. This has nothing to do with exile zone.

2) Phasing no longer causes card to leave the battlefield. You just treat them like they don't exist.

3) Tokens can't come back from being phased out. They cease to exist if they are ever phased out, just like if they left the battlefield.
Back to top
chakal-PT



Joined: 02 Mar 2009
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Simple like this, A token can only be on batlefield... Wink
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy