Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Journey to Nowhere and Opalescence



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why would playing it be illegal? You're just casting an enchantment. The game is simply a draw.
Back to top
Laplie



Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 561

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The game ends in a draw.

Quote:
104.4b If the game somehow enters a “loop” of mandatory actions, repeating a sequence of events with no way to stop, the game is a draw. Loops that contain an optional action don’t result in a draw.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And it only works if there is no other creature in play (which with Opalescence out means no other enchantment as well), that seems highly unlikely. Loops like this have existed for quite some time and never caused much problems.
Back to top
NahHolmes



Joined: 13 Jan 2005
Posts: 738

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ck3gds wrote:
In other words, unless the opponent has a way to stop this from happening (like Stifle, for instance) then the game will end in a draw?

This seems like something exploitable to me...

Yeah very exploitable, a combo that draws the game Rolling Eyes
Back to top
Conkisstador



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

there have been many effects like this before... 3 oblivion rings is one example.
it's not an "exploit"... compare it to having a kikijiki and pestermite in play. there have been hundreds of combo decks... and a combo that draws is hardly unfair.

but as far as rules go- yes it is a mandatory trigger and if it only has one target then it will lock the game. in loops where there IS an OPTION (a 2nd creature in teh graveyard when there is worldgorger dragon) then the controlling player declares how many times they would like to iterate the infinite loop... then nonactive says if he'll ahve any responses. calculate the results of the chosen #s consequences... then controlling player must make a new choice... aka animate dead targets tarmogoyf in his graveyard.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forcing a game into a loop that results in a draw is perfectly legal. Since it won't take more than a few seconds to explain, how can it be stalling?
Back to top
Loop



Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, but can a player sit there perpetuating the infinite loop until the match timer runs out, or is there a rule that says the game is forced into a draw when one of these situations arises?
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you enter a loop with only mandatory elements, the game is automatically a draw. You can't go through the motions, it's just a draw, the game ends and the next one begins.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy