Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Sphinx Ambassador and basic land types



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
twodioz



Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you would be correct on the land types. otherwise it would say something like "equal to the number of basic lands in play"...

I will let someone else answer the Sphinx question- unless I look at the card first.
Back to top
CHRONICBL



Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it would be dumb to choose a non creature from sphinx ambassador because you would not be able to get that card. There are 5 basic land types so at most from that gain life spell you could gain 10 if you had each type in play. If he only had forests in play he would only gain 2 life.
Back to top
ACM
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dumb, yes. Illegal? Nope.
Back to top
StringTheory



Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wording is because of verification. For instance, Demonic Tutor lets you search your library for a card, and put it in your hand. Sylvan Scrying lets you search for a land, REVEAL IT, and put it in your hand.

Whenever something makes you search for a specific type of card, you have to reveal it, so everyone knows what type of card it is (i.e. that you're not cheating).

Ambassador's ability would be reasonably pointless if there was a reveal clause prior to the choosing the card name clause.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy