Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Preeminent captain vs. Ethersworn canonist



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Ashe38



Joined: 24 Jun 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:05 am    Post subject: Preeminent captain vs. Ethersworn canonist Reply with quote

Situation: I have a preeminent and canonist is in play. I cast a honor
of the pure, then attack with the preeminent. Will i still be able to use
the captain's ability?

Preeminent captain say's: Whenever Preeminent captain attacks,
you may put a soldier creature card from your hand to the battlefield
tapped and attacking.

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
MetalDuck



Joined: 05 Jul 2009
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. With Captain's ability, it is PUTTING the creature in play, not PLAYING the creature. If it said, "Play a creature card from your hand without paying it's mana cost", then you wouldn't be able to.
Back to top
Conkisstador



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

putting into play is not casting. yes you can get your soldier.
Back to top
Oop



Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quick question about captain's ability since this thread is already up, can you put another captain into play with one ability and activate his ability because your attacking or since you already "declared attackers" can you not activate the 2nd ability?
Back to top
DragonKid



Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I may be wrong but I dont think so because he comes into play attacking so the trigger never happens he hasent attacked hes put into play attacking.
I may be 100 percent wrong tho
Back to top
TheDarkener



Joined: 25 Oct 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ability triggers when he attacks, if something is put into play into attacking, it will not trigger any "when this attacks" abilities.
Back to top
JuStiCaR



Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, your 100% right.

4/1/2008: If you use the ability, the Soldier creature enters play attacking. It doesn't trigger "when a creature attacks" triggers and is not subject to restrictions on declaring attackers.
Back to top
DragonKid



Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ohhh yeah Smile
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy