Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Double negative...



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
clayparson



Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no, in both cases.
Back to top
Lynolf



Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 546

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:10 am    Post subject: Re: Double negative... Reply with quote

NO!!!

Now let me see if I can explain it correctly:

When a spell goes to the stack and resolves, it does its effect, and then goes to the graveyard. The effects of a spell don't acumulate, they do their thing, and that's it. Another card with a similar effect to which this "rule" apply is Swift Silence. In the same way you play and Overrun, then you play a Raging Goblin, the Raging Goblin won't the the boost from Overrun.

Someone will probably explain this better than me, but for now may this serve as a base for your questions. Mr. Green
Back to top
Taoofss



Joined: 22 Dec 2004
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow. Thats like asking, "If I shock a 1/1 creature, can I save that last point of damage for a later time."
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another reason this doesn't work is that you have to choose all targets for Double Negative when you play it. You can't go back later and change some targets, as soon as you play it, the targets are locked in and can't be changed.

Taoofss, sometimes people just started playing, have misconceptions about the game, or were taught badly, it happens. There are no stupid questions, just stupid answers.
Back to top
Lynolf



Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 546

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hardtrack wrote:
Taoofss, sometimes people just started playing, have misconceptions about the game, or were taught badly, it happens. There are no stupid questions, just stupid answers.


That's what I call gg.
Back to top
MetalDuck



Joined: 05 Jul 2009
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This IS the same guy making the argument that his Grixis Control deck consistantly beats Fae...

And he doesn't know how... playing Magic is ACTUALLY done. And he is kind of a douche bag in that thread. Just saying...
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy