Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Multiple Empyrial Archangels



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Socks3



Joined: 19 Oct 2008
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 12:53 pm    Post subject: Multiple Empyrial Archangels Reply with quote

If I have 2 Empyrial Archangels in play, and my opponent deals, say, 8 damage to me, would I choose how the damage is divided? Or would the replacement ability of one take it all?
Back to top
bludendguts



Joined: 31 Mar 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you would be dealt damage from a source, you would choose 1 angel to redirect all of that damage to
Back to top
Egnirys



Joined: 31 Mar 2005
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So for each source you choose 1 Angel to redirect to. If 4 sources deal 3 damage each both your angels can survive?
Back to top
FiReBLT



Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

correct.
Back to top
TacoMaster



Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[18:46] <GOD|away> 2 Empyrial Archangels... Opponent swings with 4 3/3s... Have to redirect all of the damage to only one of them, right?
[18:47] <+Clariax> all 12 damage is one event, so it's all replaced by one archangel's ability
Back to top
ik
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 11 Sep 2007
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thats different than say, "Incinerate you? Incinerate you? Incinerate you? Incinerate you?"...
Back to top
TacoMaster



Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ik wrote:
Thats different than say, "Incinerate you? Incinerate you? Incinerate you? Incinerate you?"...


Yes, but it's also 40 times more likely/clears things up.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Look below, I was wrong.

Last edited by Hardtrack on Wed May 27, 2009 5:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DS_McWerp
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 15 Aug 2006
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 4 incinerate situation both archangels could survive.

The 4 3/3's situation one angel would die, since the dagame is one event and the angel effects damage done not sources dealing damage. Each angel see 12 damage coming in, and both try to take it, and you have to pick one to take the bullet
Back to top
jazzbat



Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 185

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please, listen to Hardtrack. It doesn't matter that the damage occurs at the same time (i.e., combat damage). The crux of the situation is that it is coming from multiple sources, and can be assigned differently for each source.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, isn't my face red. Turns out I was wrong.

You can not split up combat damage between different angels.

Stupid continuous effects, they always trip me up. I wish they could define 'event' a bit better than they do now.

There goes my street cred I guess.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy