Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Ethersworn Canoeist



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Pluto



Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 8:10 pm    Post subject: Ethersworn Canoeist Reply with quote

Does the Ethersworn Canoeist stop a Cascade from going off??
Back to top
alvaro202



Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, ethersworn canonists prevents the next spell that could be played by cascade from being played, because you have played a non artifact spell for your turn. (unless of course, you trigger cascade off of an artifact)

EDIT: it appears the cascade does still trigger and resolve, just the spell that would normally be played off cascade cannot be played. Just to more accurately answer your question.

http://forums.mtgsalvation.com/showthread.php?t=158804
Back to top
blitzer2k7



Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 412

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shouldnt this be under magic rulings? just wondering why it hasnt been moved..
Back to top
Shyft-
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 117
Location: Your Mom

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 10:36 pm    Post subject: ROFL Reply with quote

ROFL ETHERSWORN CANOEIST =P. K, moving thread.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ethersworn Canonist.

Cascade triggers when you play the spell. When the trigger resolves, you will reveal cards until you find a nonland card with a lower CMC. Assuming it's not an artifact you then can't play it and have no choice but to not play it. It gets shuffled to the bottom with the rest of the cards revealed off the cascade.

So it doesn't 'stop cascade from going off', and you will have to reveal, but unless you find an artifact you won't be able to play it.
Back to top
LoneWulf



Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 191

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ethersworn Canoeist? Row, row, row your boat. Laughing
Back to top
KevinJonas



Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

do etherswoon canon preve. other eth. canon from being played? as in green beats...
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 3:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KevinJonas wrote:
do etherswoon canon preve. other eth. canon from being played? as in green beats...

What? Can you phrase your question in english?

But remember that Ethersworn Canonist is an artifact and only prevents nonartifacts from being played...
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy