Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Volcanic fallout vs planeswalkers



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Carnubak



Joined: 21 Jul 2008
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You cannot redirect damage to your own planeswalker at will, either from your own Volcanic Fallout, or that of your opponent; and the reason is Rule 212.9g:
Quote:
# 212.9g - If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source controlled by an opponent, that opponent may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker the first player controls instead. This is a redirection effect (see Rule 419.6c) and is subject to the normal rules for ordering replacement effects (see Rule 419.9). The opponent chooses whether to redirect the damage as the redirection effect is applied. [CompRules 2007/10/01]

I'm pretty sure that the rationale behind this is to avoid Planeswalkers to be used as "damage sinks" to artificially give yourself more life points. Your opponents can choose to redirect their noncombat damage to your planeswalker, if they so choose for tactical or strategic reasons, but you can't make that decision for them.
Back to top
black1234



Joined: 17 Mar 2009
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but the rule only states damage from an opponents source, i think magic might need to update this rule to say something along the lines of playes can redirect damage to a planes walker they control


i agree with not being able to do it, just wizards need to update the rule so that it reflects it, so no one else might have to ask
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The rule states it exactly as it is. If it's noncombat damage, controlled by an opponent, and would be dealt to you, then that opponent may choose to redirect it to your planeswalker.

black1234 wrote:
but the rule only states damage from an opponents source, i think magic might need to update this rule to say something along the lines of playes can redirect damage to a planes walker they control


i agree with not being able to do it, just wizards need to update the rule so that it reflects it, so no one else might have to ask
Back to top
LoneWulf



Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 191

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The key here is that the noncombat damage needs to be coming from your opponent and they get to decide to redirect. If the source of the damage is coming from you then you cannot redirect to your own 'walker.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And that is not some oversight, that's a deliberate choice. They didn't want you to be able to use your own planeswalkers as a damage sink.
Back to top
Dracon_ian



Joined: 13 May 2008
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The rule is saying what CAN happen, rather than everything you can't.
Back to top
Steveman



Joined: 13 Apr 2007
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No it doesn't because your opponent doesn't control the source of damage.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy