Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

children of korlis vs tendrils



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
baz9980



Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:02 pm    Post subject: children of korlis vs tendrils Reply with quote

my opponent tendrils me, Storm= 9. I am at twenty life. Can i sac my children of korlis, stacking it so that it goes in between the eigth and ninth copy to gain 18 life?
Back to top
Manipulation



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 318
Location: Oxnard

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you sacrifice it when the 8th copy resolves, before the ninth, you will gain 16 life, then lose 2 more, putting you at 18.
Back to top
GoneBananas
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 329

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

18 life there are a total of 10
Back to top
ACM
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But he won't gain 18 by sacrificing it before the ninth resolves.

If he on the other hand sacrifices it -after- the ninth copy, before the original resolves, he will gain 18 life.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So yes, you can save yourself from Tendrils of Agony with Children of Korlis. How much life you regain depends on how many copies you let resolve, but the principle works.
Back to top
coolcreep



Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 588

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i.e. get the storm to 18 if your opp has some kids to sacrfice.
Back to top
TugaChampion



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 615

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's still a terrible answer to Storm. It can be echoing thruth like pillar, canonist and desire but the storm player can also combo without any worries and get a huge enough storm count to kill you twice or get echoing thruth from desire. With Canonist that's impossible, with Teeg he can't play desire or tendrils and with pillar he has a limited amount of spells he can play before finding echoing truth.

So really that's not a good solution against TEPS.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whether or not it's a good solution was not the question. Only if it worked or not.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy