Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Mutavault and Blood Moon



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
toor



Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 11:30 am    Post subject: Mutavault and Blood Moon Reply with quote

If I activate Mutavault in response to a blood moon effect, does it stay a creature until end of turn?

As I understand the rules the answer is yes. But if not why not?
Back to top
FreshVeggies



Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Muta Vault's activated ability makes it a 2/2 shapeshifter until end of the turn, then blood moon's ability resolves making it a mountain.

MutaVault will be a 2/2 shapeshifting mountain until end of turn
Back to top
ACM
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It won't be a shapeshifter though, it will be a 2/2 Land Creature - Mountain with all creature types, called Mutavault until end of turn.
From the next turn and on it will be a Land - Mountain called Mutavault.
Back to top
coolcreep



Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 588

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

also maybe I'm just nitpicking but blood moon's ability doesn't "resolve." the spell resolves and then the static ability is in affect. You don't have a chance to "respond" to blood moon coming into play, you would have to activate it while blood moon was on the stack.
Back to top
derflippi
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 1402
Location: Weiterstad

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ACM wrote:
It won't be a shapeshifter though, it will be a 2/2 Land Creature - Mountain with all creature types, called Mutavault until end of turn.
From the next turn and on it will be a Land - Mountain called Mutavault.


blood moon overwrites all landtypes, shapeshifter, kavu etc are not land subtypes, therefore, Mutavault ends up as a
2/2 "all creature types" Mountain
it can no longer be activated "again", but it can tap for Red mana.
Back to top
Craze



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 5676
Location: Indiana, U

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CMA-Flippi wrote:
ACM wrote:
It won't be a shapeshifter though, it will be a 2/2 Land Creature - Mountain with all creature types, called Mutavault until end of turn.
From the next turn and on it will be a Land - Mountain called Mutavault.


blood moon overwrites all landtypes, shapeshifter, kavu etc are not land subtypes, therefore, Mutavault ends up as a
2/2 "all creature types" Mountain
it can no longer be activated "again", but it can tap for Red mana.


The irony is that ACM is a judge :-\
Back to top
Xarls



Joined: 21 Jul 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Craze wrote:

The irony is that ACM is a judge :-\



hahaah
Back to top
Welran



Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what difference between ACM and CMA answers?
both says it will be 2/2 land creature mountain all creature types
or I understand something wrong?
Back to top
derflippi
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 1402
Location: Weiterstad

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ACM was wrong stating Mutavault would lose its creature types.

It still has its creaturetypes!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy