Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Alara Herald's



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
mandanglelow



Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:36 am    Post subject: Alara Herald's Reply with quote

so do you have to sacrifice three creatures or can it be one creature thats all those colors.
Back to top
derflippi
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 1402
Location: Weiterstad

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dragon's Herald {R} |Creature -- Goblin Shaman| 1/1. 2R, T, Sacrifice a black creature, a red creature, and a green creature: Search your library for a card named Hellkite Overlord and put it into play. Then shuffle your library. ALA-U,ALABC,NewStd


Sacrifice the following:
a green creature
a black creature
a red creature

Thats 3 creatures.
Back to top
mandanglelow



Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and Sprouting Thrinax is black, red, and green... idk a better explination of "and" would be helpful.
Back to top
Regnar



Joined: 30 May 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Key word = "a"
Back to top
Alvaro21k



Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it says a green creature, a black creature and a red creature, not a green, red and black creature.
Back to top
LordRozar



Joined: 21 Feb 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

u can sacrafice one creature, i asked a judge at the pre-release
Back to top
[R]Nchamay



Joined: 17 Jul 2008
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the judge was wrong
Back to top
jazzbat



Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 185

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The difference is that it says "a black creature, a red creature, and a green creature", not "a black, red, and green creature"
Back to top
Thorns



Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 863
Location: Rath

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You must sacrifice three creatures that fit the characteristics asked of them.
Back to top
FilomathBret



Joined: 29 May 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A judge that said that is indeed smoking crack, especially since the rules primer clearly states that you have to sacrifice 3 different creatures to the Heralds.
Back to top
Ronnan
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 170

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ya
didnt u ever play yugioh?!
you got to sac 3 monsters for godmonsters
Back to top
LoneWulf



Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 191

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try doing a little research before asking questions that are already answered in the FAQ (which was released before the prerelease).
From the FAQ:

***Cycle: Heralds***

Each shard has a Herald that allows you to search your library for a specific mythic rare card and put it into play.

Angel's Herald
{W}
Creature -- Human Cleric
1/1
{2}{W}, {T}, Sacrifice a green creature, a white creature, and a blue creature: Search your library for a card named Empyrial Archangel and put it into play. Then shuffle your library.

* To play the ability, you must sacrifice three different creatures. You can't sacrifice just one three-colored creature, for example.

* You may sacrifice multicolored creatures as part of the cost of the search ability. For example, you may sacrifice a red-green creature, a green-white-blue creature, and a blue creature to pay for Angel's Herald's ability. If you sacrifice a multicolored creature this way, specify which part of the cost that creature is satisfying.

* You may sacrifice the Herald itself to help pay for the cost of its ability.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy