Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Godhead of Awe



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
DjiDJo



Joined: 21 May 2007
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If i have Godhead, after that I play Crovax, my white creatures will be 2/2, Godhead 5/5, Crovax 1/1, but what will happen if i first play crovax and than godhead? Will creatures be 1/1 instead of 2/2? Does the ability of godhead apply in same layer as Crovax's ?
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't matter if it's a 'global effect' or not (and officially, the term no longer exists).

Godhead of Awe will override every other boost except for two things: counters and static abilities that give a P/T boost. Those two are always applied after the P/T is set. Crovax, Ascendant Hero has static abilities, so its abilities are applied after the P/T is set by Godhead. This also means it kills all nonwhite creatures.

All other abilities are applied in timestamp order. So if you first play the Godhead and let it resolve and then play Giant Growth the Growth will 'count'. Other way around and it is overwritten.
Back to top
kby



Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

simple answer:

the Power/Toughness printed on cards is now 1/1

another question:

goyf is now a 1/1 suck card? Smile
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, Tarmogoyf is now 1/1.
Back to top
onecleanceli



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 398

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think hardtrack explained it pretty perfectly
Back to top
kfcman



Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 733

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BoneMonkey wrote:
what if a creature is 0/1 like birds of paradise ?

does it get boosted up to 1/1?


Yes. All Creatures become 1/1 base stat creatures.
Back to top
SniperMayer



Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 290

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And what if I play Crovax first, not Godhead? Does Godhead's ability overwrite Crovax's? Can timestamp order be used in this situation?
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The order you play them in only matters if they apply in the same layer.

Counters and static abilities that boost P/T are in a later layer than the P/T setting abilities. So the order doesn't matter, they are always applied later.

The order of Crovax and the Godhead thus doesn't matter.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy