Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Saccing lands and using their ability in response



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
KrovikanMist



Joined: 02 Feb 2007
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 4:04 am    Post subject: Saccing lands and using their ability in response Reply with quote

I know if u play boom out of boom/bust and sac'ing ur terramorphic expanse you can search for ur basic land. but can you sac and use the ability for smallpox?

another example: saccing your horizon canopy to draw a card. and saccing to smallpox?

can someone tell me the part of the comp rules regarding this?
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't, because Smallpox doesn't target. You don't choose which land to sacrifice until you have to do so. So you can sacrifice a Horizon Canopy and Terramorphic Expanse in response to the Smallpox , but when it resolves, you'll just have to sacrifice another land.
Back to top
stenly



Joined: 02 Jan 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 4:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

boom doesn't makes u sac your land, boom text is "Destroy target land you control and target land you don't control"
so once you target the lands, u can sac your land in response.
but smallpox doesn't target a land... smallpox makes you sac your land, so there is no target untill the smallpox resolves (small pox doesn't target when its resolves too...), and once its resolves, u sac a land, and u can't to anything to prevent it.

the only way you can prevent the sacr of a land if smallpox resolves, its if u got no lands at all, therefor, nothing to sac.


Last edited by stenly on Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:59 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also note there isn't a target involved at all. Not when you play it, not when it resolves, not ever.
Back to top
KrovikanMist



Joined: 02 Feb 2007
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah I didnt read boom//bust
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy