Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Balance and Ancestral Visions issues..



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
CrippleFight



Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you choose the order in which the triggers resolve, so yes you can get the redic card advantage.

And yes zero is a number, he goes to a blank board. This tactic was used back in the day when the original balance was around to fix a loosing fight all too often.
Back to top
CrippleFight



Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yep, they can be countered just like any other spell because when the final counter is removed it says you may PLAY this spell w/out paying its cost.

Other little notes regarding suspend:
Teferi makes your opponents suspend spells stay removed permanantly if he is in play when the last counter is remvoed.
And if done properly a split second spell can act as a counter versus a suspend spell.
Back to top
FoxBat



Joined: 18 Oct 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CrippleFight wrote:

And if done properly a split second spell can act as a counter versus a suspend spell.


I hope you aren't thinking of split second preventing anything being played until the entire stack is empty, like just about everyone does. After the split second spell resolves, players get priority and can play spells or abilities as they please again, on top of whatever's left on the stack.
Back to top
CrippleFight



Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was refering to the kracken incident actually.
Back to top
Maelstrom21



Joined: 10 Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Location: Running ar

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to clarify CrippleFight's comment, here are some tricks you can do with split second cards vs suspend ones.

#1: If Deep-Sea Kraken is suspended with 1 counter left, you can play a split second spell to keep it removed from the game.

#2: Stonewood Invocation on targeting suspend spells like Phthsis, though that's a pretty no-brainer.

#3: Trickbind the suspend card as the last counter is removed and it triggers.

Note that #1 works since you played a split second card 'under' the Kraken on the stack. Since nothing can be 'above' a split second card on the stack, the Kraken sits removed from the game. However, you CAN NOT do this in any other case, since normal suspend cards will trigger well before you can try to slip a split second card 'under' it.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy