Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

artifact myr questions



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
pseudodespot



Joined: 08 May 2011
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

-.-*

Last edited by pseudodespot on Mon Jan 06, 2014 1:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
hrollurfrakk



Joined: 03 May 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1.

Firstly: you do not "cast ability".

MyrSmiths ability is a triggered ability, which means that you cannot activate it at will, it would rather need some event to be activated ("trigger condition").

In this case the trigger condition is "whenever you cast an artifact spell".

Each trigger condition causes the triggered ability to trigger only once. Therefore, providing you have only one Myrsmith in play, each time you cast an artifact spell, you may pay 1 to have an 1/1 myr enter the battlefield ONLY ONCE.
(Then if you cast yet another artifact spell, Myrsmith triggers yet another time and you can pay yet another 1.)

If you had two or more Myrsmiths in play, each artifact spell you cast would trigger all your Myrsmiths, then you could pay 1 for each Myrsmith.


Long story short: No, Sir, you can't.


2.

Myr Battlesphere's ability is a triggered ability, too. It's trigger condition (or trigger event) is "whenever Myr Battlesphere attacks".

I suppose it is clear that Myr Battlesphere attacks only once during a single Declare Attackers Step.

So when you actually happen to attack with Myr Battlesphere, its ability triggers and you may tap any number of untapped Myrs to have a certain effect. At the time you choose the number of Myrs to tap, the Myr Battlesphere's ability is BEING RESOLVED.

Unfortunately you cannot activate Myr Galvanizer's ability while another ability is being resolved. You would have to wait until Battlesphere's ability resolves, at which point it is too late to pump the Battlesphere any more.
(his "whenever attacks" triggered ability will not trigger any more during that Declare Attackers Step so you will not have another chance to tap any number of Myrs to have a certain effect)

It is possible to attack with Myr Battlesphere and respond to his "whenever attacks" ability with Myr Galvanizer's ability, but then Galvanizer's is resolved first and only when it resolves, you can choose a number of Myrs to tap for Battlesphere.

It looks highly unclear, I believe, but the point is:
YOU TAP YOUR MYRS TO MYR BATTLESPHERE'S ABILITY DURING THAT ABILITY BEING RESOLVED.
And while an ability is being resolved, you can't do much, due to the fact that no player receives priority.
ONCE YOU HAVE CHOSEN A NUMBER OF MYRS, THE MYR BATTLESPHERE'S ABILITY WILL NOT TRIGGER AGAIN DURING THAT DECLARE ATTACKERS STEP.

However, the best play you can perform is to attack with all your Myrs but Galvanizer, then Myr Battlesphere's ability triggers, you activate Galvanizer in response and untap your attacking Myrs, then resolve Battlesphere's ability, tapping your Myrs again to pump it. That way each Myr attacks in addition to pumping your Battlesphere.


Long story short: No, Sir, you can't.







Bibliography:

AD 1.
603.1
Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as "[Trigger condition],[effect]," and begin with the word "when," "whenever," or "at." (...)

603.2c
An ability triggers only once each time its trigger event occurs. (...)


AD 2.
116.1b A player may activate an activated ability any time he or she has priority.

116.2e Resolving spells and abilities may instruct players to make choices or take actions, or may allow players to activate mana abilities. Even if a player is doing so, no player has priority while a spell or ability is resolving. (...)





Have fun. Cool
Back to top
hrollurfrakk



Joined: 03 May 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I love being helpful. Embarassed
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy