Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Earthquake and bonus to creatures



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
aule



Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, if a 2/2 creature was getting +2/+2 from another creature and Earthquake was played with X=2 that killed the buffing creature, the 2/2 would also die.
Back to top
jdblack



Joined: 13 Jun 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The reason is that non-lethal damage is not removed from creatures until the end of the turn. The 2 damage from earthquake is not enough to kill it initially, but it dies when it becomes a 2/2 because it has 2 points of damage on it still.
Back to top
cloysterd



Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It actually depends on how it's giving the +2/+2. Are we talking about a static ability (Druid's Familiar) or a triggered/activated ability (Yeva's Forcemage)?
Back to top
Spyx



Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 1188

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

He probably means 'lord' creatures. Say you have a goblin chieftain and a goblin ringleader and somebody earthquakes for 2 your chieftain dies and then your ringleader is a 2/2 with 2 damage on it so it also dies.
Back to top
cloysterd



Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, so that's a static ability. It stops as soon as Lovisa goes away and the Raider is now a 2/2 with 2 damage on it, so it dies as well.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy