Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Combo - Blood Chief Ascension and discard/goes to GY



 
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Bloodchief Ascension would need 3 quest counters on it for that to work, but essentially that is correct.
Back to top
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To pull that off on turn 2 would be such a convoluted combo that it would be essentially impossible. You would need to deal 2 damage on turn 1 (presumably with gut shots?), the same on your opponent's turn 1, then proliferate with throne of geth on turn 2, then hope that your opp is stupid enough to shuffle his library, perhaps with a fetchland, so that you can play Archive trap for free.

That makes 4 gut shots, 2 lands, Ascension, Throne, Trap (already 9 cards and you only drew 8) and still reliant on your opponent to do something.

There is probably some other way to make your opp lose 2 life for free that I haven't thought of, but even so the idea of having all of those cards in the perfect order is pretty ridiculous.


Last edited by xJudicatorx on Tue Mar 27, 2012 7:57 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pyrokenesis it was kind of like the red force of will from Alliances.
Back to top
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

magicman85 wrote:
Pyrokenesis it was kind of like the red force of will from Alliances.

Nah that is creatures only and would still take 9 cards.
Back to top
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahhhh I see - so he is relying on his opp being enough of an idiot to literally deal damage to himself solely to put counters on the bloodchief ascension. Even then, in your opp's 2nd turn is stretching the "turn 2 kill" brag.
Back to top
DreamWave



Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 11:45 pm    Post subject: hey Reply with quote

player 1 = turn 1 - play red/black land, tap add 1 black, play bloodchief acension, and 2 gutshot = add 1 counter on bloochief
player 2 - turn 1 -
plays the dual land, come into play tapped unless you pay 2 life, he pays 2 life for it not to tap, add 1 counter on blood chief,
player 1 - turn 2 -
you play the land ghost quarter, you sac oponent search his library, for land puts it into play,,
you have 1 untapped mountain/swamp you tap it to cast lightning bolt, add counter at end of turn,, and cast archive trap
=)



to mtg-midwest,, your shit don't work,, wtf are you smoking ? can i get some ?
you don't put on counter, when player 2 lite bolts player 1,,
and also, player 1 cant play lands on player 2s turn, and also
it would have to be player 2 who plays fetch land, not player 1,

and it would be player 1 who lite bolts player 2, what did you smoke, you said it all backwards, lol
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The rules question has been definitively answered. If you wish to discuss how to pull this off, the rulings forum is not the place for it.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy