Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Copying something put onto the battlefield via Sneak Attack



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is what I see:

706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object’s characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The “copiable values” are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, card type, subtype, supertype, expansion symbol, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by “as . . . enters the battlefield” and “as . . . is turned face up” abilities that set characteristics, and by abilities that caused the object to be face down. Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since haste is not part of the copiable variables the tokens does not have haste.
Back to top
GunsAndDope



Joined: 12 Jul 2011
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hardtrack wrote:
Since haste is not part of the copiable variables the tokens does not have haste.


as modified by other copy effects, by “as . . . enters the battlefield” and “as . . . is turned face up” abilities that set characteristics, and by abilities that caused the object to be face down. Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied.

This is a layering question, maybe.
Back to top
pascal3000
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 02 Sep 2009
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Token win haste?
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Copy effects only copy what is written on the card. Haste is not written on the card but granted by Sneak Attack. The token does not have haste.

That whole thing about 'modified by copy effects' doesn't apply here. That's only when you're copying a Phantasmal Image or Phyrexian Metamorph (or similar). In that case, you get whatever they are copying.
Back to top
Spyx



Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 1188

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, don't play primetime in edh, it's super boring.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy