Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Oath of Druids + Forbidden Orchard in upkeep



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 2:45 am    Post subject: Oath of Druids + Forbidden Orchard in upkeep Reply with quote

It is the beginning of Player 2's upkeep.

Player 1 controls no creatures.
Player 2 controls an no creatures, an Oath of Druids, and a Forbidden Orchard.

The Oath of Druids "At the beginning of your upkeep" trigger goes on the stack.

In response, Player 2 taps his Forbidden Orchard to give Player 1 a 1/1 colorless Spirit token.

The Oath of Druids trigger resolves seeing Player 1 with one creature and Player 2 with zero creatures so Player 2 gets to flip cards from his library until he reveals a creature card.

Is this correct? A friend was telling me that you can't tap Forbidden Orchard in your upkeep for Oath. Seems like a legal play to me but just want to make sure.
Back to top
Malakai97
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 11 Aug 2007
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is not correct. At the time Oath of Druids triggers, you have no legal targets for said trigger. Thus the ability never makes it to the stack. It's similar in principle to the reason you can't cast Shatter when no artifacts are in play.
Back to top
Malakai97
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 11 Aug 2007
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 3:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Note that the condition must also be true on resolution in order to get the effect.
Back to top
GunsAndDope



Joined: 12 Jul 2011
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"The targeted player controlling more creatures than the current player is a part of the targeting requirement. A player can't be targeted by this ability unless it's true, and the ability will be countered on resolution if it's no longer true at that time."

The actual wording from gatherer, which you should always check when you have a ruling question.

Also note that as long as you use Forbidden Orchard to pop out a creature before the Beginning of the upkeep, you should be alright.
Back to top
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

605.3. Activating an activated mana ability follows the rules for activating any other activated ability (see rule 602.2), with the following exceptions:

605.3a A player may activate an activated mana ability whenever he or she has priority, whenever he or she is casting a spell or activating an ability that requires a mana payment, or whenever a rule or effect asks for a mana payment, even if it’s in the middle of casting or resolving a spell or activating or resolving an ability.

605.3b An activated mana ability doesn’t go on the stack, so it can’t be targeted, countered, or otherwise responded to. Rather, it resolves immediately after it is activated. (See rule 405.6c.)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

502. Untap Step

502.1. First, all phased-in permanents with phasing that the active player controls phase out, and all phased-out permanents that the active player controlled when they phased out phase in. This all happens simultaneously. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack. See rule 702.24, “Phasing.”

502.2. Second, the active player determines which permanents he or she controls will untap. Then he or she untaps them all simultaneously. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack. Normally, all of a player’s permanents untap, but effects can keep one or more of a player’s permanents from untapping.

502.3. No player receives priority during the untap step, so no spells can be cast or resolve and no abilities can be activated or resolve. Any ability that triggers during this step will be held until the next time a player would receive priority, which is usually during the upkeep step. (See rule 503, “Upkeep Step.”)
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy