Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Counters + Dismember



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 9:12 pm    Post subject: Counters + Dismember Reply with quote

Player 1 controls a Vorapede with a +1/+1 counter on it.

Player 2 casts Dismember on the Vorapede.

Would the Vorapede live because counters are applied in layer 7d and P/T chaning effects that don't set are applied in layer 7c?

http://www.wizards.com/magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=judge/article/20091105a


Vorapede

Creature - Insect

Vigilance, trample

Undying (When this creature dies, if it had no +1/+1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under its owner's control with a +1/+1 counter on it.)

5/4
Back to top
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, a 5/4 with -5/-5 and a single +1/+1 counter will be a 1/0 and will be put into the graveyard as a SBA.

I can only imagine that the confusion here is because you didn't let his toughness go below 0 which it certainly can.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy