Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Jwari Shapeshifter x Phantasmal Image



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Fanboy1



Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

They are the same except

- Jwari Shapeshifter can only copy allies

- Phantasmal Image is an Illusion in addition to its other types and it gains "When this creature becomes the target of a spell or ability, sacrifice it."
Back to top
MassO



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ask yourself this question when determining if something targets:

"Does it have the word 'target' in the text of the card?"

If NO, then it doesn't target.

The only exception to the above question is Aura's which do target but it doesn't state it on the card.
Back to top
Terri



Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Auras only target when you cast them if you put them into play with another effect they dont target.
Back to top
MassO



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1OR513N wrote:
Auras only target when you cast them if you put them into play with another effect they dont target.


Aura's constantly target, therefore your wrong. If a creature has a green aura attached to it and your opponent gives the creature protection from green then the aura would fall off. Sorry to bust your bubble.
Back to top
niknight



Joined: 14 Oct 2004
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MassO wrote:
1OR513N wrote:
Auras only target when you cast them if you put them into play with another effect they dont target.


Aura's constantly target, therefore your wrong. If a creature has a green aura attached to it and your opponent gives the creature protection from green then the aura would fall off. Sorry to bust your bubble.


Actually sir, you are incorrect. Auras do only target when they are cast. After they are attached to an object, they enchant the object. Protection from a source says that "auras that are enchanting an illegal object are placed into their owner's graveyard".

If you're going to be arrogant when correcting somebody, at least make sure that you are correct yourself. Sorry to burst your bubble.
Back to top
Terri



Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@massO: im not a noob i know what im talking about. A card that has protection can't:-become the target of anything it has proteciton from
-can't receive damage
-can't be blocked
-can't have auras attached to it

the tricky thing on auras is p.ex.: you can put conficate into play with academy rector and enchant an inkwell leviathan with it. ofc the enchantment doesen't fall off.
Back to top
seedub



Joined: 10 Apr 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually the aura "falls off" because of a specific rule involving protection from a color. If you give a creature with an aura on in shroud the aura is unaffected. Please actually know the rules before giving out rules information.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy