Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

diaboloc edict x progenitus



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
sc4rs



Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 859

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. Spells that target say the word "target" on them, or in the reminder text of a keyword. "Sacrifice" specifically doesn't target. You could, for example, sacrifice your own Progenitus to Nantuko Husk.

As a quick rundown, Protection:

1. Prevents [whatever] from targeting the permanent. Diabolic Edict doesn't target - no problem here.
2. Prevents [whatever] from damaging the permanent. Diabolic Edict doesn't do damage - no problem here.
3. Prevents [whatever] from blocking it if it is attacking. Diabolic Edict isn't blocking - no problem here.
4. Prevents an Aura of [whatever] type or an Equipment of [whatever] type from enchanting/equipping the permanent, and causes all Auras and Equipment to drop off the enchanted/equipped permanent if they are already there when the permanent gains Protection from [whatever] (Auras go to the graveyard, Equipment stay on the battlefield). Diabolic Edict isn't an Aura or Equipment - no problem here.

Rule 502.7 of the Comp Rules deals with Protection if you want to have a reference to show someone.
Back to top
Selkie



Joined: 22 Jul 2011
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only thing that would stop diabolic edict is tajuuru preserver or some sort of shroud for the player in question.
Back to top
Farseer
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Card Name: Diabolic Edict
Mana Cost: 1Black
Converted Mana Cost: 2
Types: Instant
Card Text: Target player sacrifices a creature.
Flavor Text: Greven il-Vec lifted Vhati off his feet. "The fall will give you time to think on your failure."


As sc4rs said "Protection" means that the thing with protection cannot be "targetted".

A spell or ability targets if it uses the word "target".

Diabolic Edit has the word "target", therefore it targets.

However, Diabolic Edict has "target player", so it only targets players. It does not target creatures.

Therefore, Progenitus' protection ability is not relevant because it is not being targetted.

So, when Diabolic Edit resolves, the targetted player will sacrifice a creature. He can sacrifice Progenitus because Progenitus isn't being targetted.
Back to top
ShamedShadow



Joined: 09 May 2010
Posts: 290

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

An easy way to remember what Protection does is with the acronym DEBT. (That's how I learned it at least.)

Protection from everything meaning it can't be...

D - Damaged
E - Enchanted
B - Blocked
T - Targeted

...by anything!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy