Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

persist ruling



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
derflippi
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 1402
Location: Weiterstad

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the persist creature returns to play, as a new object. now shield of oversoul tries to resolve, checks if its target is still legal but its not as the (old) creature is not in play anymore. Shield of oversoul will be countered upon resolution
Back to top
Tritemio



Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is something wrong in this....when the creature go to gravyhard or leave the game, before persist resolve, SBE check that shield is enchanting nothing then put it into the gravyhard
Back to top
MaksymG



Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tritmio you are wrong on that ruling. The question was talking about a shield being cast not already being in play, thus it would still be on the stack when the creature comes back however due to a lack of a legal target it would be countered as a state based effect.
Back to top
Conkisstador



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when any creature leaves a zone it becomes a completely new object in the other zones or when it returns. use that knowledge to answer 1000 questions like this.
Back to top
Y2Sky



Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Conkisstador is right. Shield of the Oversoul, being an aura, targets a creature when it is played/placed on the stack. When it tries to resolve, the original target must still exist. Since it does not (the creature returned to play is a different object), Shield of the Oversoul is countered on resolution.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy