Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Show and tell



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
dt



Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 5:29 pm    Post subject: Show and tell Reply with quote

A question about Show and Tell:


If someone casts Show and tell, and you choose Myojin of Cleansing Fire to put into play, does it have a divinity counter on it?


one of my friends has been trying to tell me that it does; I think that it doesn't because you "put" it into play using show and tell, rather than "playing it" from your hand.

Can y'all help me settle a bet and tell me I'm right (or otherwise!)? Thanks!
Back to top
Thorns



Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 863
Location: Rath

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It has no counter. I don't really know how to explain it, but I'm absolutely positively sure it won't have a counter.
Back to top
rdeg87



Joined: 29 Apr 2007
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your instincts on this are right, putting something into play is not the same as Playing it from hand.
If you put a creature into play, your not playing it, you are using a seperate ability to put it directly into play.
Back to top
Laonis_Taere



Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to clarify, playing from your hand doesn't necessarily mean paying the mana cost. For instance, force of will can be played without paying any mana whatsoever. End result is correct, though.

One way to think about the wording is that it means playing the card 'as a spell' from your hand. This would involve you announcing the spell, choosing modes/targets if necessary and paying all costs, etc. Since you're just putting a creature into play and not playing a spell, the Myojin does not get a counter.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy