Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Combo Question!



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Booya



Joined: 08 Oct 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:18 pm    Post subject: Combo Question! Reply with quote

I think this is a valid combo, though please correct me if I am wrong.

You have Wild Pair out. You play Dust Elemental and put its trigger on the stack before Wild Pairs, it bounces to your hand. Then the Wild Pair triggers and you can search your library for any of the 6/6 fatties in T2 or Block. Any problems with this, like Dust Elementals triggered abiliy countering itself due to a lack of targets or some other glitch?

If you see one, please tell me.
Back to top
Haro
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right idea, wrong execution.

You have to put the Wild Pair trigger BEFORE the Dust Elemental one on the stack or you will just bounce the tutored guy.
Back to top
Booya



Joined: 08 Oct 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, bad wording Embarassed .
Back to top
Paellin



Joined: 11 Jun 2006
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can search for any creature with a total combined power and toughness of 12 in that case, so you could search for anything from a 0/12 to a 12/0... but i wouldn't advize getting a 12/0... that would be stupid.
Back to top
Acid_Christ



Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 799

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"but i wouldn't advize getting a 12/0... that would be stupid."

He also forgot to mention he has a Pandemonium in play. Razz
Back to top
IberianWolf



Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, if sea drake's ability fizzles, why won't dust elemental's?


by the way, wild pair + graft creatures = roxorz.
Back to top
TofuBoy



Joined: 07 Oct 2005
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remember, the rescue creatures do as much as they can. If you don't have 3 or more creatures Dust elemental will just bounce all of your creatures
Back to top
Haro
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IberianWolf wrote:
yeah, if sea drake's ability fizzles, why won't dust elemental's?


by the way, wild pair + graft creatures = roxorz.


<mrbotski> Dust Elemental | 2WW | Creature - Elemental | 6/6 | Flash (You may play this spell any time you could play an instant.) Flying, fear When Dust Elemental comes into play, return three creatures you control to their owner's hand. | Pc

<mrbotski> Sea Drake | 2U | Creature - Drake | 4/3 | Flying When Sea Drake comes into play, return two target lands you control to their owner's hand. | P2


Dust Elemental doesn't target so it will try to do as much as possible.
Sea Drake targets 2 SEPARATE lands with its ability. So since Sea Drake is already in play, its not like the whole SPELL is countered but since there aren't enough legal targets as the triggered ability is put on the stack, none
of it will go on the stack.

Example:
Rack and Ruin with only 1 artifact on the board. You can't cast it and it returns to hand.
Rack and Ruin with 2 artifacts on board and 1 is destroyed in response. The other will be destroyed cause all targets must be illegal for the spell to be countered.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy